Area Roundup -- Six Rams earn all-region honors

May 26, 2009


SLIPPERY ROCK, Pa. -- Six Shepherd University players were named to the 2009 National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association Division II All-Atlantic Region Team.

Junior reliever Kenny Reisinger was a first-team selection, while junior third baseman Brian Collins and junior outfielder Tyler Beard were named to the second team. Junior pitcher Patrick Smith, junior catcher Anthony Jackson and senior designated hitter Brett Caplan were honorable-mention choices.

Reisinger was 4-2 with eight saves and a 2.18 ERA. Beard, a Williamsport graduate, batted .401 with 10 doubles, two home runs, 26 RBIs and a team-high 54 runs scored. Collins, a Jefferson grad, batted .389 with 16 homers, 17 doubles and a team-high 53 RBIs. Collins also pitched, going 3-0 with a 1.93 ERA.


Butler named Shepherd coach

SHEPHERDSTOWN, W.Va. -- Tammy Butler has been named head coach of the Shepherd Univerity women's lacrosse team, which will begin varsity play in 2010.


Butler comes to Shepherd from Hood College where she was an assistant coach for the women's lacrosse and field hockey teams. Prior to coaching at Hood, Butler was an assistant women's lacrosse coach at Division I Columbia University. She also served as the head coach at St. Mary's College of Maryland from 1991-96 and earned Capital Athletic Conference Coach of the Year honors in 1994.


Baltimore Metro League

Senior Division

Maryland Royals 14, Howard County Raiders 4

Royals: Aaron Mills 3 hits, HR; Brandon Glazer 3 hits; Josh Foster 2 hits, 4 RBIs; Kyle Crist, Jordan Thurber 2 hits each

had 2 hits.

Conococheague Little League

Red Men 9, Broad Run 0

Red Men: Wyatt Scriever 2 HRs; Jordan Stonebreaker, Caden Keplinger 2 hits each.

Federal Little League

Rotary 11, Lions 10

Rotary: Cole Conrad 3 hits, 11 Ks; Conner Shriner, Clay Smith 2 hits each.

Lions: Ryan Brown 3 hits; Brock Doyle 2 hits.

Alsatia 14, Kiwanis 4

Asatia: Conner Moulton 3 hits; Jayvien Sandridge 2 hits; Phillip Loyd 10 Ks.

Kiwanis: Preston Carey HR.


Wright Memorial Series

The 11th annual Back-on-Track Pete Wright Memorial All-Comers Track & Field Series began Tuesday at North Hagerstown High School.

It was the first in a series of five meets. The next meet will be held June 9 at North. For information, contact Mike Spinnler at 301-739-7004 or

Tuesday's male winners:

100 -- Marc Lewis 11.2. 200 -- Seth Otuso 23.7.400 -- Dacruz Norberto 59.5. 800 -- Wade Miller 2:02.1. Mile -- Jimmy Spinnler 7:14.9. 2-Mile -- Clayton Smith 12:57.2. 4x100 -- Marc Lewis, Dave Savage, Seth Otuso, Jordan Alston 48.6. High jump -- Dave Savage 4-10. Long jump -- Dave Savage 13-7.

Tuesday's female winners:

100 -- Ella Mannix 19.7. 2-Mile -- Colleen O'Dowd 12:11.8. High jump -- Sarah Harris 4-10. Long jump -- Sarah Harris 15-7 1/2.


U-16 Girls

The EPIC Quest recently placed second at the Bull Run Tournament in Virginia.

Team members include: Ashley Dudash, Ashley Warfield, Jessie Baker, Lexy Byrd, Lauren Trumble, Amanda Marple, Shelby Knepper, April Saenz, Rachel Sandstrom, Becca Martz, Tori Aikens, Jen Sherdel and Faith Saenz.


Ravens Nest No. 12 Player of the Year Scholarship Banquet

Tri-State Ravens Nest No. 12 will hold its 10th annual Player of the Year Scholarship Banquet on June 6 at Beaver Creek Country Club in Hagerstown.

Ravens wide receiver Derrick Mason will be presented with the fan club's Player of the Year award and three Tri-State area high school football players will receive scholarships: Alex Akers of Smithsburg, Dylan Spangler of Waynesboro and Matthew Yates of Martinsburg.

A meet-and-mingle session will be held and the keynote address will be given by USA Football regional manager Deno Campbell. There will be a semi-formal dinner, a cash bar and silent and live auctions.

Tickets are $35 and can be purchased at the Maryland Theatre box office or online at

For information, contact Mike Vaughn at 717-597-9740.

Slow-pitch softball tourney

The 28th annual Church Slow-Pitch Softball Tournament will be held June 27 in Chambersburg, Pa.

The tournament is only for church teams. Cost is $125 per team.

For information, contact Ross Raudabaugh at 717-263-1480.

The Herald-Mail Articles