Shindledecker, Driscoll nominated in Ward One

May 20, 2009|By KATE S. ALEXANDER

WAYNESBORO, Pa. -- Tiffany Shindledecker and Wayne Driscoll each won their party's nomination Tuesday for the Ward One seat on the Waynesboro Borough Council, according to complete, but unofficial Franklin County election results.

The two will square off for the single council seat in the municipal election on Nov. 3.

Three Waynesboro Borough Council seats were open this election cycle, but only the Ward One position was contested.

Shindledecker led incumbent Charles "Chip" McCammon by 53 votes for the Democratic nomination.

McCammon has held the Ward One seat for 12 years.

In the Republican race, Driscoll received 110 votes, while Billie Finn received 71 and Lenore Gawf received 16.

The First Ward is comprised of all homes east of Church Street in the borough limits.

Jason Stains, a Republican incumbent, won his Ward Two seat, according to complete but unofficial Franklin County election results.

The Ward Two seat was uncontested in the primary with only Stains listed on the ballot.


Craig Newcomer, a Republican incumbent for Ward Three, missed the filing deadline for his seat, but announced he would run a write-in campaign for the Third Ward.

Republicans in Ward 3 cast 121 write-in votes Tuesday and Democrats cast 74 write-in votes. The election board will take until at least Friday to announce results.

Ward One Democratic Ballot

Tiffany Shindledecker 79 votes

Charles "Chip" McCammon 26 votes

Write-In 11 votes

Ward One Republican Ballot

Wayne Driscoll 110 votes

Billie Finn 71 votes

Lenore Gawf 16 votes

Write-In 6 votes

Ward Two Democratic Ballot

Write-In 18 votes

Ward Two Republican Ballot

Jason Stains 147 votes

Write-In 3 votes

Ward Three Democratic Ballot

Write-In 74 votes

Ward Three Republican Ballot

Write-In 121 votes

The Herald-Mail Articles