25% turnout predicted for today's Pa. vote

May 18, 2009|By JENNIFER FITCH

CHAMBERSBURG, Pa. -- One in four registered voters in Franklin County is expected to visit polling places Tuesday between 7 a.m. and 8 p.m.

Tuesday's primary election in Pennsylvania will allow voters to make choices in several statewide races, along with races for men and women to serve as township supervisors, borough council members and school board representatives.

Also, voters in Franklin and Fulton counties will be selecting among four candidates to fill two judge positions for the 39th District of the Court of Common Pleas.

Voter turnout four years ago in the primary election was 23 percent. Franklin County Commissioner Bob Thomas, whose job gives him a position on the election board, said he and other election officials anticipate turnout of about 25 percent today.


"I think some areas of the county will be higher and some parts lower," Thomas said.

He predicted turnout might be highest in Antrim and Washington townships, the latter of which has supervisors and school board races.

In Washington Township, Republicans David McCarney and Jeffrey Geesaman are running for the supervisors seat being vacated by Christopher Firme.

Also, two Washington Township residents are vying for one seat from their region on the Waynesboro Area School Board. Incumbent Gregory Ochoa, a Democrat, is running against Chris Lind, a Republican.

Three people are seeking two open Borough of Waynesboro seats on the school board. Stephanie Kober, Bonnie Bachtell and Brenda Lucas, all Democrats, are political newcomers.

All the candidates cross-filed, meaning they will appear on Democratic and Republican ballots.

Five people will appear on ballots for the Waynesboro Borough Council Ward One seat currently held by Charles "Chip" McCammon. McCammon and fellow Democrat Tiffany Shindledecker will square off for their party's nomination.

On the GOP side, Wayne Driscoll, Billie Finn and Lenore Gawf are looking to secure a nomination for the First Ward.

In Antrim Township, a crowded field will greet Republican voters.

Incumbents Fred Young III and James Byers are attempting to keep their seats while being challenged by John Alleman, Larry Eberly, Jeff Todd, Dan Pellicano and Greg Moats.

Countywide in Franklin and Fulton counties, Angela Rosenberry Krom, Shawn Meyers, Eric Weisbrod and Tim Wilmot are Republicans vying for the two judge positions. Each cross-filed to appear on Republican and Democratic ballots.

The top two vote-getters from the GOP ballots in the judges' race will progress to November's municipal election. The same applies to the top two Democratic vote-getters.

The three county commissioners on Monday delivered ballots and supplies to the 75 voting precincts, which are represented at 72 polling places.

They also delivered absentee ballots that were received by 5 p.m. Friday.

"They're counted at the precinct," Thomas said.

Jean Byers, deputy chief clerk for the county, sent out five trucks loaded with voting equipment on Monday. She also fielded calls from poll workers calling in sick.

"We're filling last-minute vacancies," she said, adding that the county has plenty of poll workers.

Sample ballots can be found at

Franklin County voters can ask questions about their registration status by calling 717-261-3886. Election-related questions should be directed to 717-261-3810.

The Herald-Mail Articles