County employees honored for service

May 12, 2009

More than 150 Washington County employees were honored for milestone years of service at an employee recognition breakfast Tuesday at Plaza Hotel.

The employees were given gifts representing their years of service, with those with 35 years getting pocket or pendant watches; 30 years, mantle clocks; 25 years, rosewood pen and pencil sets; 20 years, coffee mugs; 15 years, blue marble pens; 10 years, coasters; and five years, key chains.

The following employees were recognized for 35 years of service:

o Paul A. Golden, engineering

o Arnold C. Barr, highways

The following employees were recognized for 30 years of service:

o Andrea C. Wyand, sheriff-patrol

o Dennis W. Engle, water quality

o Ray E. Gladhill, highways

The following employees were recognized for 25 years of service:


o Larry L. Jessop, solid waste

o Melvin L. Swope, sheriff-detention

o Lawrence D. Everhart, highways

o Terrance L. Keefer, solid waste

o John M. Mellott, parks, recreation and facilities

o Kelly W. Reynard, transit

o Kenneth L. Kitchen, solid waste

o Michael W. Knight, sheriff-detention

o Rodney D. Weicht, sheriff-detention

o C. Steve Zies, solid waste

o Dennis W. Embly, solid waste

o Rocky L. Bishop, Sr., water quality

o James L. Sterling, parks, recreation and facilities

o Barbara A. Brown, sheriff-judicial

o Robert G. Davenport, solid waste

Nineteen employees were recognized for 20 years of service; 16 employees for 15 years; 38 employees for 10 years; and 31 employees for five years.

The county also honored 11 county retirees, including longtime highway department employees Arnold Barr and Ray Gladhill.

The Washington County Commissioners began the program in 1998 to reward dedication and longevity of service to the citizens of Washington County.

The Herald-Mail Articles