Area Roundup -- Rams top Barton

March 20, 2009


Shepherd 9, Barton 7

WILSON, N.C. -- Brian Collins went 2-for-4 with a two-run homer and Tyler Beard was 4-for-6 as Shepherd University improved to 11-7 with the win over Barton College (16-9).

Terps on TV Saturday

Maryland's home game against Boston College on Saturday will be shown live on CSN, beginning at 1 p.m.

Two former Smithsburg athletes play for the Terrapins -- junior relief pitcher Nate Steelman and senior left fielder Gerry Spessard.


Williamsport registration

Registrations for the Williamsport Senators (junior) and Williamsport Nationals (senior) legion teams will be March 29 from 1-4 p.m. and April 5 from 1-4 p.m. at the Williamsport High School baseball field. The age groups are 15-17 for the junior team and 15-19 for the senior team. A player needs to bring a copy of his birth certificate to registrations.

The teams consist of players from Williamsport, Boonsboro, Clear Spring and Hancock high schools and some private schools.


Tryouts will be April 19 at 2 p.m., April 25 at 4:30 p.m. and April 26 at 2 p.m.

For information, contact Duane Myers at 301-223-9527 or 301-573-0203.


Clinic Tuesday at North

The Maryland State Wrestling Association, in conjunction with the Washington County Wrestling Officials Association, will hold a Freestyle/Greco Wrestling Clinic on Tuesday at 6:30 p.m. at North Hagerstown High School. 

Robert Jarrett, a former two-time West Virginia state champion for Hedgesville, will be the clinician. 

The clinic is in preparation for the Freestyle/Greco Wrestling Tournament to be held April 5 at North Hagerstown.  

For information, contact David Slick at 301-991-4355 or


Senators set for Annapolis

The Hagerstown Senators will compete in the Annapolis Open in the 12U division this weekend in Annapolis, Md.

They open play today at 5:45 p.m. against the Kingson Royals. Saturday, they play the Baltimore Blue Claws at 9 a.m. and the Catonsville Cubs at 1:30 p.m. The winner of the bracket advances to Sunday's semifinals.

The Senators are Colby Byers, Nick Lewis, Zach Andrews, Matt Malphurs, Jeremiah Younker, Airin Martin, Riley Arnone, Matt Clopper, Wyatt Scriever, Jordan Stonebraker, Zach Barr and Sinjin Shoop.

The Herald-Mail Articles