Hagerstown election results unchanged

March 12, 2009|By DAN DEARTH

HAGERSTOWN -- The results of the City of Hagerstown's primary election remained unchanged Thursday after 102 absentee ballots were counted.

Kaye Robucci, deputy director of the Washington County Board of Elections, said the absentee totals were added to the votes that were recorded Tuesday during the Republican mayoral and Democratic City Council primaries.

The election results were certified Thursday afternoon.

With the counting of the absentee ballots, voter turnout for the primary increased from 11.2 percent to 11.8 percent, according to election statistics.

Mayor Robert E. Bruchey II picked up 30 votes to maintain a commanding 495- to 358-vote lead over Ann Holtzman -- his nearest GOP challenger. Third-place finisher Jonathan R. Burrs received 73 votes.


Burrs said Thursday he intends to file as a write-in candidate to challenge Bruchey and Democrat David S. Gysberts in the May 19 general election.

"I think Bob and Dave have to catch me," Burrs said. "My campaign is hitting its stride. I just have to turn it up into overdrive."

Burrs said he plans to file no later than today.

The final vote count for the Democratic race for council was: William M. Breichner, 621 votes; incumbent Lewis C. Metzner, 583; incumbent Martin E. Brubaker, 540; R. Noel Brady, 538; David A. Lidz, 515; Joseph A. Marschner, 471; incumbent Penny M. Nigh, 444; incumbent Alesia D. Parson-McBean, 283; and incumbent Kelly S. Cromer, 249.

Brady, Breichner, Brubaker, Lidz and Metzner will advance to the general election to square off against Republicans Patrick N. Crist, Forrest W. Easton, Jeremy L. Manford and Don Mohar.

The Republican candidates for council did not have to participate in a primary because fewer than five candidates filed to run.

Unaffiliated council candidate Ashley C. Haywood is on the general election ballot as well.

The Herald-Mail Articles