Hagerstown voters at polls today

March 09, 2009|By DAN DEARTH

The polls for the City of Hagerstown primary election will be open Tuesday until 8 p.m.

Unsure where to vote? Find out by calling the Washington County Board of Elections at 240-313-2050.

HAGERSTOWN -- Hagerstown voters will choose a Republican mayoral candidate and five Democratic City Council candidates Tuesday to advance to the general election on May 19.

In the Republican mayoral primary, political newcomers Jonathan R. Burrs and Ann Holtzman will try to unseat incumbent Robert E. Bruchey II.

The winner of that race will face Democrat David S. Gysberts in the general election.

All five of the City Council seats are up for grabs.

Democratic incumbents Martin E. Brubaker, Kelly S. Cromer, Lewis C. Metzner, Penny M. Nigh and Alesia D. Parson-McBean are seeking re-election. They are being challenged in Tuesday's primary by R. Noel Brady, William M. Breichner, David A. Lidz and Joseph A. Marschner.


The top five vote-getters in the primary will move on to the general election to face Republican council candidates Patrick N. Crist, Forrest W. Easton, Jeremy L. Manford and Don Mohar.

Unaffiliated council candidate Ashley C. Haywood also will be on the general election ballot.

The Republican candidates automatically will advance to the general election because fewer than five GOP candidates filed to run.

Haywood also did not have to file to run in the primary.

The Herald-Mail Articles