Hagerstown City Council Candidates

February 24, 2009|by DAN DEARTH

HAGERSTOWN -- The number of Democrats running for the Hagerstown City Council will be narrowed to five from a field of nine in the March 10 primary election.

The winners will face off in the May 19 general election against four Republicans and one unaffiliated candidate.

There will not be an election among the Republican council candidates March 10 because at least five GOP candidates did not file to run.

It still is important, however, for registered Republicans to turn out to vote for one of three GOP mayoral candidates, said Kaye Robucci, deputy director of the Washington County Board of Elections.

"There are very important races for both the Democratic and Republican voters to vote for during the primary," Robucci said.

All five council incumbents -- Martin E. Brubaker, Kelly S. Cromer, Lewis C. Metzner, Penny M. Nigh and Alesia D. Parson-McBean -- will run against R. Noel Brady, William M. Breichner, David A. Lidz and Joseph A. Marschner in the Democratic primary.


Patrick N. Crist, Forrest W. Easton, Jeremy L. Manford and Don Mohar are the Republican candidates. Also seeking office is unaffiliated candidate Ashley C. Haywood.

The winning candidates will take office June 1, said Donna Spickler, clerk for the City of Hagerstown.

Each council member earns $8,000 per year.

The Herald-Mail Articles