Hagerstown Fire Dept. honors its best

February 21, 2009

HAGERSTOWN -- The Hagerstown Fire Department handed out its 2008 awards Saturday night at the 27th annual banquet at the Hagerstown Elks Club.

Honored were:

o Richard L. Miller, with a special award of excellence for efforts while serving as a deputy fire marshal in restoring police powers, promoting fire-safe cigarettes, code changes and work on the juvenile fire-setter program.

o Richard T. Hopkins, for 35 years of dedicated service to the fire department and the community. He served 30 of those years as battalion chief.

o Jeb S. Eckstine, Charles L. Mundey and Robert W. Herr Jr., as honor deed firefighters for efforts in restraining an individual from harming himself in an incident in the 100 block of South Potomac Street in October.


o Adam Hopkins, Steven Eby, Franklin Ridenour, Daniel Myers, Justin Malott, Joey Chojnacki, Anthony Delosier, Deanna Pelton, John Thomas, Travis Keefer and Will Ball, for their actions in finding, rescuing and reviving a man in a house fire at 452 N. Prospect St. on Jan. 30, 2008.

o Cecil Bittinger, as Volunteer Firefighter of the Year, for many years of outstanding service to the community and Hagerstown Fire Department as a member of the South Hagerstown Fire Co., Air Unit and Board of Public Safety.

o Richard Gilbert, as Career Firefighter of the Year, for finding and removing a man who was trapped and not breathing in a fire at 452 N. Prospect St. on Jan. 30, 2008.

o Capt. James Sprecher Jr., as top volunteer responder with 251 incidents.

o Cindy Lewis, with the Chief's Award, for setting an example of dedication, devotion and caring.

o J.W. Andrew Hartman and George J. Reichert III, with certificates of appreciation, for inspecting, updating and performing maintenance on Knox Rapid Entry Lock Boxes that allow continued quick entry into buildings in case of fire.

The Herald-Mail Articles