FCPS honors students with King Awards

February 16, 2009

FREDERICK, Md. -- Frederick County public school students recently celebrated the life and legacy of Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. in a presentation called "From Vision to Action."  

In an evening that was "filled with inspiring performances that focused on Dr. King's life and the principles he promoted, the school system acknowledged student artwork and written expressions about ways to put into action the dream of Dr. Martin Luther King," said Ted Luck, supervisor of FCPS Education That Is Multicultural and Gifted and Talented Education.

After opening remarks by Associate Superintendent Steve Lockard, Gov. Thomas Johnson High student Joshua Diggs sang the national anthem followed by Angela Spencer, Jackson Chapel United Methodist Church Choir Director, who sang "Lift Every Voice and Sing." Elementary chorus students from Deer Crossing and Orchard Grove performed during the evening and Duyen Lethuy Nguyen, a Frederick High sophomore, read her award-winning poem, "Martin Luther King Jr."


BOE president Jean Smith and Associate Superintendent Ann Bonitatibus assisted Mr. Lockard in presenting awards. Throughout the ceremony, emceed by Brunswick High students Rachel Ham and Kevin McCarthy, one outstanding student selected by each county public school received a "King Award."  

To earn the award, the student must have demonstrated leadership qualities characteristic of Dr. King and exhibited the Character Counts! pillars: responsibility, caring, fairness, trustworthiness, citizenship and respect.

Elementary King Award winners were: Lauren Poole, Ballenger Creek; Dylan Goodnough, Brunswick; Dylan Hurley, Carroll Manor; Nicholas Kellogg, Centerville; Ellica Kang, Deer Crossing; Morgan Springer, Emmitsburg; Anne Marie Marker, Glade; Marissa Maze, Green Valley; Mallory Mingone, Hillcrest; Grace Gnatowski, Kemptown; Kyle Crampton, Lewistown; Leigh Rankin, Liberty; Aminata Gado Oumarou H D, Lincoln; Payton Lowery, Middletown Primary; Nathan Bartlett, Middletown; Renee Travis, Monocacy; Sara Carnahan, Myersville; Tyler Fontanilla, New Market; Aaron Reeder, New Midway-Woodsboro; Aza Shiao, North Frederick; Miakayla Topovich, Oakdale; Madeline Browning, Orchard Grove; Sophia Strachan, Parkway; Morgan Moone, Sabillasvile; Jenna Umberger, Spring Ridge; Rachel Burns, Thurmont Primary; Macy Randall, Thurmont; Mikaylah Collins, Tuscarora; Wade Stieren, Twin Ridge; Josephine Vallejo, Urbana; Marc Leazer, Valley; Kyle Daggett, Walkersville; Stephen Nelson, Waverley; Elizabeth Rubie Meyers, Whittier; Anna Marie McClain, Wolfsville; and Ronald Todd Williams, Yellow Springs.

Middle school King Award winners were: Keziah Padden, Ballenger Creek; Brianna-Tiffanie Winstead, Brunswick; Rehan Tariq, Crestwood; Emma King, Gov. Thomas Johnson; Cody Meushaw, Heather Ridge; Kevin Tam, Middletown; Matthew Griffith, Monocacy; Kyle Elswick, Monocacy Valley Montessori; Cole Pattison, New Market; Calvin Nolan, Oakdale; Laken Weaver, Thurmont; Grace Stephens, Urbana; Scott Berryman, Walkersville; Nisiang Mann, West Frederick; and Cassandra Lowell, Windsor Knolls.

High school King Award winners were: Jasmine Lynna Harper, Brunswick; Reeaz Bassa, Career & Technology; Ashley Raquelle Robinson, Catoctin; Jalesa Robinson, Flexible Evening; Aimee Briggs, Frederick; John Vitarello, Gov. Thomas Johnson; Ashley Clare Delauter, Linganore; Jaraad Yates, Middletown; Tad Routzahn, Rock Creek; Jakarie Jackson, Tuscarora; Charma Harris, Urbana; and Christelle Muleka, Walkersville.

Art winners were elementary students Melanie Bambrick, Brunswick; Karah Lynne McNamara, Lewistown; Tuba Shadan, Lincoln; Nyoka Ambush, Corey Appiah-Kubi, Joshua Baker, Fernando Bello-Perez, Saul Bravo, Katherine Claxton, Andrew Dunn, Nia Elmore, Carley Flora, James Fritz, Ryan Gaddis-Powell, Tavis Harper, Cameron Horne, Nataly Mariona Parada, Julia Merwin, Andrew Mitchell, Zuzanna Pasek, Betsy Ruano De La O, Junior Soler, Abigail Stitley, Sara Summers, Alexus Washington and Camille Weed, North Frederick; Susannah Auderset, Parkway; Madeline Canning and Dakota Fravel, Spring Ridge; middle school students Katelyn Millison, Brunswick; Kelsey Canizales and Latosha Maddox, Monocacy; high school students Natalie Duggan, Frederick; Charlene Maravilla and Chelsey Stegman, Gov. Thomas Johnson; Rachel Barton, Middletown; and Schuyler Fogle and Jasmine Rivera, Walkersville.

Written expression winners were elementary students Alexa Craemer, Carroll Manor; Emmy Hudak, Middletown Primary; Sophia Jackson and Sarah Martin, North Frederick; Emma Hildebrandt, Orchard Grove; middle school students Amanda Fioravanti and Jaime Weiser, Ballenger Creek; Ashia Kidd, Urbana; high school students Ashley Raquelle Robinson, Catoctin; Erinn Nicole Gales, Corey Mullen, Duyen Lethuy Nguyen and Sascha Sullivan, Frederick; Kiara Newsome, Heather Ridge; and Jennifer Viets, Walkersville.

The Herald-Mail Articles