Advertisement

Go, Do, Learn

January 16, 2009

Relational skills class



WAYNESBORO, Pa. - A relational skills class will be offered at Waynesboro Area YMCA. The class, "How to Understand People's Behavior" will be offered from 10 to 11:30 a.m. Saturday, Jan. 17, at Waynesboro Area YMCA. For information on the program, go to www.thefriendliestplaceintown.org. Advance registration is requested. There is a fee for nonmembers. To register, call 717-762-6012.

Support for single moms



FREDERICK, Md. - Single Moms Together will meet from 10:30 a.m. to 1 p.m. Saturday, Jan. 24, at Families Plus!, 35 E. Church St. There will be a discussion for moms on how to set personal goals and keep them. Lunch and childcare will be provided. The group will then travel to a pottery painting shop. For reservations, call 301-694-9002.

Washington County recreation programs



Washington County Recreation Department will offer new programs at three community recreation facilities: Rockland Woods, Maugansville and Pangborn. Offerings include Pilates, ballroom dance, badminton and more. For information and a list of programs, go to www.washco-md.net or call 240-313-2805.

Advertisement

Pa. recreation programs



CHAMBERSBURG, Pa. -The Chambersburg Recreation Department is accepting registration for the following youth and adult programs:

o Preschool open gym -9:30 to 11:30 a.m. Wednesdays and Fridays.

o Teeny boppers - 10 to 11 a.m. Tuesdays, Jan. 27, to March 3. Registration deadline is Wednesday, Jan. 21.

o Sporties for shorties - 10 to 11 a.m. Mondays, Jan. 26 to March 9. No class Feb. 16. Registration deadline is Tuesday, Jan. 20.

o Kindersports clinic -3:45 to 4:45 p.m. Tuesdays, Jan. 27 to March 3; and 10 to 11 a.m. Thursdays, Jan. 29, to March 5. Registration deadline is Wednesday, Jan. 21.

o USSF grade eight soccer referee course - 6:30 to 9:30 p.m. Tuesday, Feb. 24, Thursday, Feb. 26, Tuesday, March 3, Thursday, March 5, Tuesday, March 10, and Thursday, March 12. Registration deadline is Tuesday, Jan. 27. $110. Call 717-261-3275.

Pet-care courses



Hagerstown Community College's Center for Continuing Education is offering a variety of courses on animal care for pet owners.

o Pet CPR, nutrition and first aid - 9 a.m. to 2:30 p.m. Saturday, Jan. 24, Valley Mall Center. $59.

o Introduction to pet massage for the pet owner - 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Saturday, March 21, Humane Society of Washington County. $64.

o Dog behavior and communication - 6 to 9 p.m. Thursday, March 26, HCC's main campus. $20.

o Beginning dog obedience - Thursdays, April 2, through May 21. Students are permitted to bring one dog. $230.

For information or to register, call 301-790-2800, ext. 236, or go to www.hagerstowncc.edu/coned.

Surge Connection weekend



GREENCASTLE, Pa. -Students in grades nine through 12 are invited to attend Surge Connection weekend from 7 p.m. Friday, Jan. 30, to 2 p.m. Sunday, Feb. 1, at Camp Joy El, 3741 Joy-El Drive.

Registration costs $55, or $50 if registered by Friday, Jan. 23.

For information or to register, call 717-369-4539, e-mail info@joyel.org or go to www.joyel.org.

The Herald-Mail Articles
|
|
|