Berkeley County Commission briefs

January 11, 2009

Berkeley County Commission reorganizes

MARTINSBURG, W.Va. - Berkeley County commissioners William L. "Bill" Stubblefield and Anthony J. "Tony" Petrucci on Thursday backed fellow commissioner Ronald K. Collins to serve as commission president for 2009.

Stubblefield's nomination of Collins was quickly seconded by Petrucci without any discussion. County Clerk John W. Small Jr., who presided over the vote, swore in Collins.

The commissioners also voted on the division of their respective board and commission assignments without any discussion at the meeting.

Petrucci said after the meeting he assumed most of the assignments formerly held by Commissioner Steven C. Teufel, whom he defeated in the November 2008 general election.


Collins gained two additional board assignments from Stubblefield in the reorganization - the Eastern Panhandle Regional Planning & Development Council (Region 9) and the Hagerstown/Eastern Panhandle Metropolitan Planning Organization. Collins' other assignments are to the county's sewer district board, Landmarks Commission, Recreation Board, Planning Commission, Roundhouse Authority, Regional Transit Authority and North Eastern Regional Emergency Medical Service Inc.

Stubblefield netted two of Teufel's assignments - the county's Fire Service and Ambulance Authority boards. He relinquished two - the Berkeley County Farmland Protection Board and Work Force Investment Board - to Petrucci.

Stubblefield retained assignments with the county's development authority, water district, senior services, 911 dispatch and Clean Air Task Force. He also will handle homeland security issues.

Petrucci's assignments are community relations advisory committee, emergency food and shelter, emergency services council, housing consortium, local emergency planning, solid waste authority, airport authority and health board.

Commission makes more than a dozen appointments

MARTINSBURG, W.Va. -The Berkeley County Commission on Thursday filled more than a dozen vacancies on various county boards and commissions, including more than half of the 10-member planning commission.

Reappointed to three-year terms without discussion to the planning commission were Donald G. Fox, H. Daniel Gantt, Eric W. Goff, Gary Matthews, John F. Jeans and Gary L. Phalen.

Other reappointments decided Thursday were Hunter Wilson (Airport Authority); John Christensen and Kevin Starliper (Development Authority); Joanne Huntsberry (Landmarks Commission); Joe Vanorsdale Jr. (Roundhouse Authority); Kimberly A. Fitzwater and F. Elaine Merceruio (Dog Nuisance Appeal Board); Kenneth M. Lemaster Jr. (Criminal Justice Board and Central Dispatch); and Brad Bolyard (Building Permits Advisory Committee).

The commission also approved the appointment of U.S. Rep. Shelley Moore Capito's Eastern West Virginia field representative Christopher Strovel to the Berkeley County's Senior Services board and Gregory S. Rhoe to the Berkeley County Fire Service Board. Rhoe replaced Tim Feltner, whose appointment was vacated last year when commissioners learned he was ineligible to serve based on residency requirements.

- Matthew Umstead

The Herald-Mail Articles