Deese honored again at Hagerstown Speedway

December 14, 2008

Hagerstown Speedway recently wrapped up its 2008 season with its Annual Awards Banquet at the Hagerstown Elks Lodge. 

Top honors went to Roy Deese Jr., of Laurel, Md.; Andy Fries, of Mercersburg, Pa.; and Dale Hollidge, of Mechanicsville, Md. 

Deese won his sixth Cindy Rowe Auto Glass championship to tie Denny Bonebrake for second on the all-time list. Nathan Durboraw won it eight times.

"It's nice to be part of history at Hagerstown," Deese said. "I don't take it for granted. They're not easy to win. I've had the opportunity and six times able to take advantage. I work hard at it and sacrifice a lot to show up at Hagerstown prepared."


Fries used his two wins and consistent frontrunning to take the HTMA late model sportsman championship for the third straight season.

"We started the year out and we weren't running for the championship," he said. "We dropped out back there at the beginning of the year, fell back in points, thought we were out of it. ... Then a couple weeks later, we were right back in."

Hollidge captured his first Ernie's pure stocks title by winning four times and finishing in the top five in all but one race.

"We decided we were going to run Hagerstown all year and see what we could do," said Hollidge, who won once in seven tries in 2007. "Luckily we won the championship."

Special awards were presented to various drivers in the three divisions. 

Recipients of the Cindy Rowe late models awards were: Mike Lupfer (Sportsmanship), Nathan Durboraw (Hard Luck), Paul Crowl (Most Improved) and J.T. Spence (Best Appearing).

The HTMA late model sportsman awards went to: Jerry Bard (Sportsmanship), Scott Palmer (Hard Luck), Ashley Barrett (Most Improved) and Pete Weaver (Best Appearing).

Receiving the Ernie's pure stock awards were: Hans Stamberg (Sportsmanship), Darrin Younker (Hard Luck), Kevin Keefer (Most Improved) and Dale Hollidge (Best Appearing).

Crew chief awards were received by Roy Deese Sr., Toby Fries and Mike Knight.

The Herald-Mail Articles