Washington County students earn Commended Scholar status

November 24, 2008

Washington County Public Schools has announced the names of students who earned Commended Scholar status in the National Merit Scholarship program and one student who was named an Outstanding Participant.

Margaret Margrabe from Boonsboro High School and Christopher Bradford from North Hagerstown High School earned National Merit semifinalist status and will compete for a share of more than $35 million in scholarship awards in the spring. They were among Maryland's highest-scoring students on the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT).

Boonsboro High School student Kelechi Urama, was named an Outstanding Participant in the program, an honor given to the top 4 percent of the 150,000 black students who participated in the program.

The list of Commended Students, who scored well on the PSAT/NMSQT but not at a level to attain standing as semifinalists, includes:


o Boonsboro High School - Sean Clark, Scoti Dobson and Rachel Wollard

o North Hagerstown High School - Jeremiah Cross, Andrew Lake, Esaite Lakew, Sarah Sebrosky and Taryn Shank

o South Hagerstown High School - Anne Kraft

o Washington County Technical High School - Sean Karraker

o Williamsport High School - Allaire Bartel and Laurel Kays

Commended students do not continue in the competition for National Merit Scholarships but do gain additional opportunities for special scholarships from businesses and corporations earmarked for National Merit students.

The Herald-Mail Articles