Frederick County accepting nominations for outstanding teachers

October 20, 2008

FREDERICK, Md. - Frederick County Public Schools is accepting nominations for the Agnes Meyer Outstanding Teacher Awards and the Distinguished Educational Leadership Awards.

Both programs are sponsored by The Washington Post Co. Educational Foundation.

Complete eligibility and nomination criteria, process information and selection guidelines are available at

Nomination packets are due by Dec. 12 at 3 p.m. and should be sent to the Communication Services office, 115 E. Church St., Frederick, MD 21701.

The Agnes Meyer Outstanding Teacher Awards recognize teachers who exemplify excellence in their profession.

Each winner will receive $3,000 at a ceremony hosted by The Washington Post in May.

The 2007-08 winner for Frederick County was Nancy Kelley of Middletown Primary School.

The Distinguished Educational Leadership Awards recognize principals who go beyond the day-to-day demands of their position to create an exceptional educational environment.


The Washington Post will honor winners at a reception in April.

Jerry DeGrange, Brunswick Elementary School principal, was the 2007-08 winner for Frederick County.

The Herald-Mail Articles