Downsville Scout Troop 58 celebrates 60 years

October 12, 2008

Boy Scout Troop 58, Downsville, celebrated its 60th year of serving youth in the community.

The celebration was held Sept. 6 at Downsville Christian Church, with many former Scouts and leaders in attendance.

The Boy Scouts of America was established in 1910. The Mason-Dixon Council was chartered in the 1920s.

Troop 58 members Austin Huff, Ronnie Dagenhart, J. T. Yeargan, Zack Campbell and Brandon Starliper conducted the opening ceremony and presented the colors.

Scoutmaster Dave Campbell reviewed the recent accomplishments of the Boy Scouts at Sinoquipe Scout Reservation during the summer. The troop had 99 percent participation and placed second in the volleyball tournament. Terry Hammond was honored with the Order of the Arrow Vigil Award and two Scouts served on camp staff.

There have been 15 scoutmasters for the troop and those in attendance were recognized, along with several of the original chartered committee members. These individuals were given plaques for their contributions to the troop and community.


The troop presented the Rev. Craig Jones with a pin-oak tree to be planted on the church property as a thank you for the sponsorship of the troop.

The invocation and benediction was given by Jones, pastor of Downsville Christian Church.

Troop 58 is sponsored by Downsville Christian Church.

The Herald-Mail Articles