Prep athletes to be honored by Washington County Sports Hall of Fame

July 17, 2008|By LARRY YANOS

Gretchen Downey, A.J. Jamison and Ben Courter have been named Athletes of the Year by the Washington County Sports Hall of Fame and will be recognized Saturday along with other scholarship winners and career achievement recipients at the organization's annual awards banquet at New Dimensions Restaurant in Funkstown.

The 2008 Hall of Fame class includes Donna Aycoth, Terry Bailey, Jim Gossard, Gary "P.K." Kershner, Charles "Chick" Meehan and Joe Snyder, as well as three "Pioneer" members: Charles Boyer, Vincent Jamison Jr., and John "Ike" Powers.

While the class of 2008 will be honored, a number of Washington County athletes also will be recognized.

· Downey (Smithsburg) won the Sarah "Skip" Ward Outstanding Senior Female Athlete of the Year Award.

Downey played soccer for four years and helped the Leopards win state championships her freshman, sophomore and junior seasons.

She also played basketball for three years and gained All-Washington County, All-Area and All-MVAL recognition in both sports.


She participated in the 2008 McDonald's Roundball Classic where she received the Center for Joint Surgery and Sports Medicine Scholar Athlete Award.

· Courter (Clear Spring) shared the Harry Cunningham Jr. Award as the Outstanding Senior Male Athlete of the Year. He competed on the cross country, indoor and outdoor track and field teams.

Courter helped the Blazers cross country team to state titles in 2005 and 2006 and was the Washington County indoor high jump champion this past season and the state runner-up.

In the classroom, Courter maintained a 3.8 grade point average and was a regular on the distinguished honor roll.

· Jamison (Williamsport) broke a 46-year school record by hitting .592 in the regular season. He finished at .556 (35-for-63) with nine doubles, five homers and 22 RBIs.

Jamison was the 2008 Herald-Mail All-Area and All-County Hitter of the Year.

Jamison was the only Washington County player named to the Maryland All-State preseason team, selected by the state association of baseball coaches. He also was named to Louisville Slugger's Preseason All-America second team.

Other athletes being honored include:

Aaron "Major" Steiner Male Scholarship

·Andrew Duff (Williamsport)

Franklin "Wimp" Hamburg Scholarship


·Faith Wagner (Hancock)


·Aaron Mills (Clear Spring)

·James Reilly (Smithsburg)

Schindel Family Trust Scholarship

·Stacey Pittman (Hancock)

Robert "Turtle" Smith Baseball Scholarship

·Danny Mauk (Hancock)

·Tim Leather (South Hagerstown)

Gregg Delauney Presidential Scholarship

·Brandon Knight (Smithsburg)

Millie Shank Academic Athlete Scholarship


·Susan Kelly (North Hagerstown)


·Phillip Shriver (Smithsburg)

Board of Directors' Choice Awards

·Jessica Palmer (Williamsport)

·Kyle Malcolm (North Hagerstown)

Career Achievement recipients:

·Boonsboro -- Jamie Bingaman, Johnathon Miller.

·Clear Spring -- Laura Canfield, Francesco Scotto di Carlo, Christina Mehaffie, Cory Shives.

·Hancock -- Jacob Foreman.

·North Hagerstown -- Susana Brown, Cory Forsyth, Nathan Harden.

·Smithsburg -- Corey Centofonti, T'Bony Jewell, Kevin Kocsis, Paul Stavrakas.

·St. Maria Goretti -- David Bowen, Erica DeMercurio, Carissa Grove.

·South Hagerstown -- Brittany Hyatt, Tim Jacobson, Todd Jacobson.

·Williamsport -- Adam Cook, Jesse Ellis, Hailee Growden, Patrick Hammond, Greg Minnick, Travis Sluger.

The Herald-Mail Articles