Hancock High 2008 Scholarships and Awards

July 02, 2008

Hancock High School is proud to announce the winners of local scholarships and academic awards for 2008.  Many businesses and organizations generously contributed towards students' scholarships this year. 


Local Scholarships

American Red Cross:  Stacey Pittman and Samantha Truax

The Bowler, Inc.:  Devan Wallizer

Citizens National Bank (Hancock Branch):  Shannell Bohrer.

DAR Good Citizen Award:  Danny Mauk

Delegate LeRoy Myers, Jr. Scholarship:  Garrett Rinker

Hagerstown Elk's Club #378 Citizenship Award:  Joshua Gilhart and Stacey Pittman

Hagerstown Elk's Club #378 Most Valuable Student:  Samantha Truax

Hagerstown Elk's Club #378 Teenagers of the Year Award:  Alexis Cavey and Danny Mauk


Hagerstown Elk's Club #378 Scholarship:  Ashley McKinley

Hagerstown Kiwanis Club Atlee Kepler Scholarship:  Garrett Rinker

Hagerstown Lioness Club:  Heather Layton

Hancock High School Class of 1963:  Faith Wagner

Hancock Lioness Club:  Jacob Foreman and Stacey Pittman

Hancock Lions Club:  Jacob Foreman and Stacey Pittman

Hugh Schindel Family Scholarship:  Faith Wagner

John & Merle Keefer Memorial Scholarship presented by Hancock Presbyterian Church:  Samantha Truax and Richard Strong

HMSHS Academic Competition Team Scholarship provided by Hagerstown Trust:  Danny Mauk and Garrett Rinker

Hancock PTA:  Samantha Truax

Hancock Middle-Senior High Faculty Scholarship:  Jennifer Fox

Hancock Rotary Club:  Danny Mauk and Garrett Rinker 

Lewis J. Ort Regional Science Scholarship:  Garrett Rinker

Montgomery Memorial Scholarship presented by Hancock Lions:  Stephanie Creek

Dr. Budd Moore College Fair Scholarship provided by WCPS:  Danielle Copeland

Morgan County War Memorial Hospital:  Rebeccah Bell, Alexis Cavey and Stacey Pittman

Potomac Fish and Game Club Scholarship:  Samantha Truax

Rev. F. Allan Weatherholt Scholarship:  Stacey Pittman

State of Maryland Senatorial Scholarship:  Danny Mauk

Town of Hancock and Pepsi:  Danny Mauk and Richard Strong

Virginia McLuckie Scholarship:  Jacob Foreman, Garrett Rinker, Stephanie Trail

Dr. W. Ardell Haines Scholarship:  Devan Wallizer

Washington County School Counselors Scholarship:  Heather Layton and Stacey Pittman

Washington County Hospital Auxiliary:  Alexis Cavey



Leadership/Citizenship Awards

Herff-Jones Principal's Leadership Award:  Danny Mauk

Peer Helper Award:  Devan Wallizer

Perfect Attendance Award for Senior Year:  Joshua Gilhart, Stacey Pittman, Stephanie Trail

Student Service Learning Award:  Samantha Truax

Washington County Association of Student Council Plaques:  Shannell Bohrer, Danielle Copeland, Stacey Pittman, Samantha Truax, Devan Wallizer

Washington County Partnership for Children and Families Commissioner's Youth Meritorious Award:  Stacey Pittman


Academic Recognition

Academic Honors Distinction

Highest Honors:  Danny Tyler Mauk, Garrett Tyler Rinker, Lacey Danielle Watson

High Honors: Alexis M. Cavey, Jacob G. Foreman, Christine M. Forquer, Joshua A. Gilhart, Britney M. Mann, Casey N. Spriggs, Samantha G. Truax

Honors:  Heather LeeAnn Layton, Erin Nicole Shives


American History Plaque provided by Woodmen of the World:  Danny Mauk


National Council of Supervisors of Mathematics' Award:  Garrett Rinker


Passport to the Future Awards:  Steven Beaver, Rebeccah Bell, Cody Breeden, Alexis Cavey, Michael Clingerman, Ashley Davis, Jacob Foreman, Christine Forquer, Jennifer Fox, Joshua Gilhart, Amber Glass, Spencer Golden, Brittany Keefer, Calli McBride, Waylon McCarty, Matthew McCoy, Danielle McCusker, Brittany Mills, Stacey Pittman, Tyler Price, Garrett Rinker, Erin Shives, Stephanie Trail, Samantha Truax, Faith Wagner, Lacey Watson, Chad Yonker


Washington County Celebration of Excellence Award for GPA of 4.0 or higher:  Danny Mauk, Garrett Rinker and Lacey Watson.  GPA of 3.7 to 3.99:  Alexis Cavey, Jacob Foreman, Christine Forquer, Joshua Gilhart, Britney Mann, Casey Spriggs and Samantha Truax.


H. Nathan Rosen Medallions for highest grades in the senior year:  Danny Mauk and Lacey Watson 


Presidential Education Excellence Award:  (Gold)--Alexis Cavey, Jacob Foreman, Christine Forquer, Joshua Gilhart, Heather Layton, Britney Mann, Danny Mauk, Garrett Rinker, Erin Shives, Casey Spriggs, Samantha Truax, Lacey Watson.  (Silver)--Stacey Pittman, Faith Wagner, Devan Wallizer


Merit Scholastic Awards for the top five percent of the graduating class:  Danny T. Mauk, Garrett T. Rinker, Lacey D. Watson


Valedictorian Awards:  Danny Tyler Mauk and Lacey Danielle Watson


Salutatorian Award:  Garrett Tyler Rinker


Scholarships from Colleges & Universities

Alexis Cavey:  Frostburg State University and Shenandoah University Academic Excellence Scholarships

Jacob Foreman:  Allegany College of Maryland

Heather Layton:  Hagerstown Community College Faculty/Foundation for Academic Excellence

Danny Mauk:  Frostburg State University Presidential and Academic Excellence Scholarships and Hagerstown Community College Faculty/Foundation Scholarship for Academic Excellence

Garrett Rinker: West Virginia University, McDaniel College, Potomac State College and Frostburg State University

Erin Shives:  Frostburg State University Academic Excellence Scholarship

Samantha Truax:  Hood College Presidential Scholarship

Devan Wallizer:  Allegany College of Maryland Presidential Scholarship

Lacey Watson:  Shenandoah University Presidential Scholarship

The Herald-Mail Articles