Advertisement

Md. child safety seat law takes effect on Monday

June 27, 2008

Beginning Monday, the State of Maryland will begin enforcing new requirements concerning child passenger safety.

Any child younger than 8 years old will be required to be secured in a federally approved child safety seat, unless the child is 4 feet 9 inches or taller, or weighs more than 65 pounds, according to a prepared release from the State Highway Administration.

The new law also states that a person may not transport a child younger than 16 years old unless the child is secured in a safety seat or seat belt.

In addition, a child younger than 16 years old may not ride in an unenclosed cargo bed of a pickup truck.

Advertisement

A driver may be issued a citation if he or she is found to be in violation of these laws.

A $48 fine will be issued to anyone transporting a child who is not properly secured in a safety seat or seat belt. A $50 fine will be issued for allowing a child to ride in an unenclosed cargo truck bed, the release says.

For more information, contact Maryland Kids in Safety Seats at 1-800-370-SEAT or the Maryland State Highway Administration at 410-787-4077.

Information on the new requirements is available at www.sha.state.md.us. Click on Safety, then Child Passenger Safety Laws to find frequently asked questions about child passenger safety.

The Herald-Mail Articles
|
|
|