Boonsboro High FFA holds awards banquet

June 24, 2008|By KAYLA EURY

The Boonsboro High School FFA chapter held its annual banquet May 22, celebrating the past year's events, giving awards and installing the 2008-09 officers.

Many members worked hard throughout the past year, helping with chapter activities and participating in career development events.

Several first-year members received Greenhand Degrees. This is the first degree members can receive from being involved in several activities in the FFA. Recipients include Kacie Collins, Scott DeBaugh, Brittany Elsey, David Emanuelson, Nicole Fulton, Adam Griffth, Dylan Hammond, Scott Haupt, Josh Henline, Brooke Holder, Ashlee Kline, Ashley Lowery, Nicole Moore, Jackie Morris, Ernie Mose, Ruthie Mullendore, Cody Palmer, Brian Poffenberger, Kyle Poffenberger, Sam Quesenberry, Kaylee Smith, Emma Swain, Brittany Warfield and Danielle Wyand.

Among the Greenhand Degree recipients was one member who excelled in all that she has done throughout the year. This first year member was chosen to receive the star Greenhand Degree for her outstanding achievements. This year's recipient was Ashlee Kline.


Eleven members received Chapter Degrees. To earn this degree, members must have received their Greenhand Degrees, taken and agricultural class and have been involved in chapter activities throughout the year.

This degree requires members to invest time and money in an agricultural project. The Chapter Degree recipients include Bo Butts, Kayla Eury, Whitney Furr, Alison Griffith, Jessica Hanes, Donnie Koontz, Alli Mullinex, Josh Planck, Jeff Schwartz, Tiffany Starr and Brandon Stine.

Like the Greenhand Degree, one recipient was chosen to receive the Star Chapter Degree. The Star Chapter Degree was received by Whitney Furr, the chapter's new president. She has been very involved in the FFA throughout the year and is a leader in the FFA.

The 2008-09 officers were installed at the banquet. The new officers include president, Whitney Furr; vice president, April Thompson Jr.; advisor, Erin Canfield; secretary, Ashlee Kline; treasurer, Ashley Lowery; and reporter, Kayla Eury.

The new officer team wants to make this upcoming year a "positive and exciting year," according to the new president, Whitney Furr.

The Herald-Mail Articles