Mason-Dixon Boy Scout council honors volunteers at banquet

June 08, 2008

WAYNESBORO, Pa. - The Mason-Dixon Council, Boy Scouts of America held its annual volunteer recognition dinner March 1 at the Savoy Restaurant.

The following Scout leaders were recognized for their years of service: Johnie Simpson, Frederick Shetter, Doug Henneberger, Chris Richwine and Julia Grove, 25 years; Robert Avey, 30 years; H. Ron Keefer, 40 years; and John Kinney, 65 years.

Joe Bach was presented with the James E. West Award for his endowment contributions to the Boy Scouts.

Mark Wisner and Joe Mellot were presented with the William D. Boyce Award for organization of new units.

A moment of silence was held in recognition for the Scout leaders who passed away during the previous year: Don Brown, Thomas Robel, Alexander and Agnita Schreiber, Richard Stanton, Jerry Hoak and Jim Mortzfeldt.

Council Advancement Chairman Tom Lowson presented the council's highest volunteer award, The Silver Beaver, based on volunteering service to the council, church and in the community. This year's recipients are:


Gregory L. Miller: Miller is the Tuscarora District chairman and has held the following positions in Scouting: assistant scoutmaster for Troop 99, committee member for Troop 99, Tuscarora District advancement chairman, Venture Crew 99 adviser and executive board member of the Mason-Dixon Council. He has served on many camporee committees, chaired the Tuscarawas District awards banquets and has organized and accompanied Crew 99 to Sea Base in Florida and to Philmont Scout Ranch. He has assisted with Venture Leader Training and Leadership Skills courses.

Michael A. Medevich: Medevich is committee chairman for Troop 19 in Waynesboro. He has served as scoutmaster of Troop 97, scoutmaster of Troop 19, assistant scoutmaster, committee member, and member of the Order of the Arrow. He has served on the Jamboree Committee and was assistant scoutmaster for the 1993 National Scout Jamboree. He has served on the Council Training Staff, Council Activity Committee, camporee staff member, staff member for Junior Leader Training Course, led backpacking trips into the White Mountains of New York state and has managed the Christmas tree lot in Waynesboro.

Jay Nase: Nase is scoutmaster for Troop 17, Williamsport. He has served as cubmaster for Pack 17, assistant scoutmaster for Troop 17, chartered organizational representative for Pack 26 at Mt. Lena United Methodist Church, training chairman for the Washington County District and is now the Mason-Dixon Council training chairman. He has attended the World Jamboree in Japan and National Jamboree at Fort A. P. Hill and was the scoutmaster of the first National Youth Leadership Training course. He has been to Philmont Scout Ranch as an adult leader and is associate adviser with the Order of the Arrow.

The Mason-Dixon Council serves the youth in Washington County and in Franklin and Fulton counties in Pennsylvania.

The Herald-Mail Articles