Cushwa, Abraham named to Hagerstown Community College board of trustees

June 05, 2008

Patricia K. Cushwa has been appointed by Maryland Gov. Martin O'Malley to fulfill the remaining year of a six-year term on the Hagerstown Community College board of trustees, effective immediately.

She replaces Pamela Christoffel who resigned from the board in May.

O'Malley also appointed Austin S. Abraham to serve a six-year term on HCC's board of trustees, beginning July 1.

 He replaces Anton Dahbura whose board term will expire on June 30, 2008. 

Cushwa, who is a member of the U.S. Parole Commission,  previously served on the HCC board from 2003 to 2005.

Abraham is director of management services for Frederick (Md.) County Government.

Both Cushwa and Abraham will be voting members of the board in the development and evaluation of college policies. 

The board functions as the governing body of the college in accordance with Code of Maryland Regulations and oversees the work of the president of the college. 


The board consists of a chair, vice chair, and five members. The college president serves as the secretary/treasurer.

The Herald-Mail Articles