Funkstown will rely on strong pitching

May 31, 2008|By LARRY YANOS

FUNKSTOWN -- New Funkstown American Legion manager Phill Powell is anxious to get the Western Maryland District season under way.

"It should be a very strong league. We have seven teams and we're looking forward to the competition," Powell said. "I'm excited about the upcoming season. We had a better than expected turnout. We have some good players."

The 2008 district campaign starts today when Post 211 hosts long-time rival and returning league member Williamsport Nationals in a doubleheader starting at noon.

Other entries in the Western Maryland District include Brunswick, Thurmont, Frederick, Mt. Airy and Urbana.

Powell said Funkstown has a deep pitching staff, a number of good hitters and better-than-average power.

"Pitching depth will be important. We play a 44-game schedule this year. Funkstown only played 23 games last year," Powell said.


While he looks forward to the campaign, Powell says the preseason has been a bit awkward since some members of the squad were involved with other teams.

"We really haven't had a full team yet. Two of the guys (Spencer Cromer and Kenny Feigley) are with the Hagerstown Community College team at the World Series and Josh Constable (Clear Spring), Brandon Knight and Tyler Presgraves (South Hagerstown) were involved in the high school playoffs," Powell said.

The Funkstown pitching staff will include Cromer, Feigley, Constable, Knight, Kyle Hoffman, Cody Nelling, Jay Shaeffer, Jake Staebler, Marcellus Sumlin and Stephen Younker.

"I expect Tyler Presgraves, Raymond Rosario, Sumlin and Nelling to provide most of the power," Powell said. "And we should have a good hitting lineup with average speed."

Other players on the 2008 roster include: Jeremy Barron, Tyler Ernde, Colby Fisher, Derrick Hendershot, James Hutzler, Zeke Ricketts and Steven Younker.

The returning players are Sumlin, Ricketts, Knight, Younker, Constable and Barron.

In Powell's first year at the helm, he will be assisted by Darryl Powell, Mike Knight, Danny Luipersbeck and Matt Smith.

For additional information on the team, visit its Web site at

The Herald-Mail Articles