Ramer to return to Funkstown Council

two incumbents, vice mayor retain seats

May 06, 2008|By MARLO BARNHART

FUNKSTOWN --Two incumbents and a council veteran easily won the three available seats on the Funkstown Town Council in an election Monday that saw an above-average turnout of 132 voters.

Kim Ramer, who served 20 years on the council before losing a re-election bid two years ago, was the top vote-getter with 101 votes.

Incumbents Sharon Chirgott and John Phillips III retained their seats, with Chirgott receiving 80 votes and Phillips getting 70 votes, according to Town Clerk Brenda Haynes.

Barry Warrenfeltz received 40 votes and Nathen Graybill got 28 votes.

Paul N. Crampton Jr., the only person to file for the vice mayor's post, received 82 votes.

Contacted this morning, Phillips III said he was very happy when he learned he had been re-elected to the council.

"I thank everyone who voted for me," Phillips said, adding he was also pleased with the turnout.

"That's a big plus," he said.


Phillips welcomed Ramer back to the council.

Attempts to reach Ramer Monday evening and this morning were unsuccessful.

Chirgott was also unavailable for comment.

Ramer is employed by the Maryland Division of Correction in the maintenance department that serves the prisons south of Hagerstown. He also owns Ramer's Service Center in Funkstown.

Days before the election, Ramer said many residents encouraged him to run for office. He said he will strive to keep water and sewer rates as low as possible, to repair streets and to work with state and federal legislators.

Chirgott has held a council seat since 1986. She is a teacher with Washington County Public Schools.

With Monday's election, Phillips won his fourth term on the council. He is employed by the Washington County Engineering Department as a field inspector of bridge and road projects.

The four-year positions held by Mayor Robert L. Kline and council members Jerry Walker and Richard Nigh were not up for re-election this year.

The League of Women Voters staffed the polls at Funkstown Town Hall from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Paper ballots were used.

Haynes said 123 voters cast ballots at the polls. The other nine votes were absentee.

The Herald-Mail Articles