Washington County Boy Scout council holds annual recognition dinner

May 04, 2008

The Washington County District of the Mason-Dixon Council held its annual volunteer recognition dinner at Christ's Reformed Church.

District Chairman Jay Lauver welcomed the audience and Chris South, advancement committee chairman, gave the invocation.

South introduced the 2007 Eagle Scouts in attendance. Each Scout described his Eagle project. The Eagle Scouts were presented with a Certificate of Achievement. He also presented the Summertime Pack Awards to the following Packs for conducting three activities in the summer: Packs 14, 23, 36, 51, 54, 55 and 66.

Jay Nase, council training chairman, presented the following training awards:

Boy Scout Training Awards - Gary Rejonis, John D. Rinehart, Gerald Doyle, Timothy Rowe, Audrey Partlow, Scott Paddack, David Lantz, Carey Levertt, Stephen Baer, David Biser, John Etter, Chris Horsch, Ed Marfut, Rodney Purdham and Robert Storer

Tiger Cub Den Leader Award - Beth Forrest

Cub Scout Den Leader Award - Mark Forrest

Gary Little, Pack 54 committee chairman presented the Veterans Awards to the following:


Five-year pins: Andrew Hoffman, Sandra Bunker, Daniel Bunker

10-year pins: Bret Smith, Mark Twigg, Martin Dahlgreen, Wendy Dahlgreen

15-year pin: Eric Lauver

20-year pins: Jeff Weaver, Barbara Weaver

District Commissioner Fred Nugent presented the 2007 Centennial Quality Unit Awards to the following units:

Packs 9, 14, 17, 20, 22, 23, 26, 34, 36, 51, 54, 58, 66, 102, 103 and 108.

Troops 2, 4, 5, 8, 10, 14, 15, 17, 20, 23, 26, 51, 58, 62, 64, 108 and 136.

He also presented 100 percent Boys Life ribbons to the following units:

Packs 9, 23, 36, 54, 55, 58, 65 and 103.

Troops 2, 4, 8, 10, 17, 20, 26, 58, 64, 65, 108, 117, 136 and Team 65.

Nugent honored

Jay Lauver and Scott Paddack presented Fred Nugent with the Distinguished Commissioner Award for the many years of service to the district and for his achievement in building the commissioners staff.

Cump gets plaque

Jay Lauver and Chris South presented Jerry Cump with a plaque of appreciation for the Hagerstown Elks Lodge 378. The Elks purchase the Eagle kits for every Eagle Scout in Washington County. The Elks also present the Americanism Award to each Eagle, along with a U.S. flag. Cump will present the plaque to the Lodge at a membership meeting.

Jay Lauver, Fred Nugent and Scott Paddack recognized the district committee members and district commissioners for their work during the past year.

Jay Lauver presented the highest award the District is able to give to a volunteer - the District Award of Merit. This award is presented to individuals who have displayed dedication and many hours to assist with the activities sponsored by the fistrict. The award was presented to:

Darlene Huff:

Darlene has served Pack 58, Downsville, in many positions, including committee chairman, she also served Troop 58 as committee chairman. Darlene has assisted in district training for Cub Scouts leaders, co-chaired Cub Scout Extravaganza activities and has supported many district activities.

Scott Smoot:

Scott is the Scoutmaster for Troop 64, Maugansville, and is the vice president of Boys Scouts for the council. He has served as council training chairman, attended National Jamborees at Fort A.P. Hill, traveled to the Philmont Boy Scout Ranch in New Mexico and has assisted in many camporees and supported many district activities.

The Washington County District is part of the Mason-Dixon Council, Boy Scouts of America.

The Herald-Mail Articles