4-H members, leaders recognized

April 15, 2008|By BETH BUBACZ, Special to The Herald-Mail

The theme for the recent 4-H Youth Development Recognition Night was "The Sky's the Limit."

The evening blasted off with Rory McElravy of the Sharpsburg 4-H Club, giving the welcoming remarks. He said, like a rocket through the sky, we can discover ourselves and our talents that we may share in our communities.

Following his welcoming remarks, those present were led in the Pledge of Allegiance and the 4-H Pledge by Erin Canfield, 4-H member and Washington County Dairy Princess, as well as Kerri Nicely, 4-H member and Washington County Ag Expo Queen.

The invocation was delivered by 4-H volunteer and Washington County 4-H Advisory Committee member Shawna Corbett. 4-H members Kandis Stoy and Rachel House served as official photographers for the evening.


The evening was made special by a number of special guests who gave support to the evening's events by presenting awards.

Special guests included U.S. Rep. Roscoe Bartlett; Maryland Del. Richard Weldon; Penny Pittman, representing state Sen. George Edwards; Washington County Commissioners President John Barr; Williamsport Mayor James McCleaf; and Sharpsburg Mayor Hal Spielman. A letter from U.S. Sen. Benjamin Cardin was read by Lynn Little, Washington County Extension director.

Hall of Fame Award

The 4-H Hall of Fame Award was presented to Nevelene Uzelac: club leader, Ag Expo home arts superintendent, 4-H market sale secretary, etc.

As a youth, Nevalene was a Washington County 4-H club member, exhibiting dairy cattle as one of her 4-H projects. In 1983, Nevalene began donating her time and energies to the program as a Washington County 4-H volunteer and has continued to be an active volunteer for 24 years.

Family of the Year

The 4-H Family of the Year was presented to the Marvil Family of Sharpsburg. Charlie, Mary Ann and Seth Marvil have had great pride in being a part of the Washington County 4-H youth development program for the past 9 years.

Seth, 17, is a member of the Sharpsburg Club and Rifle Club. Mary Ann and Seth serve as members of the Washington County Extension Advisory Committee.

At a recent event held for the County Commissioners at the MCE office, Seth expressed that he was proud to have represented the county and state at both National 4-H Conference and Congress. Seth's project in 2008, with the support of his parents, is to initiate an emergency preparedness educational program for the citizens of Sharpsburg as well as developing an evacuation plan for the town.

Honorary 4-H member

Shawna Corbett was awarded the Honorary 4-H Member acolade. This award goes to someone who was not involved in 4-H as a youth but exemplifies all the qualities the organizations values in 4-H Youth Development. Shawna has been a great supporter of 4-H for seven years. Her daughters are members of the Dairy Club and Lamb Club. Even though she home-schools her girls, she always finds time to lend a hand, serve on a committee, and now is serving as co-leader of the Lamb Club.

Volunteers honored

Recognizing volunteers for their years of service is an integral part of the evening. This year, four people were recognized for providing 30 years of volunteer service to Washington County 4-H.

They were Joe Frey, Pat and Dick Martin, and Roberta Yetter. These folks are what makes 4-H such a great organization.

Members of the Washington County 4-H Advisory Committee were also recognized for their dedication, collaboration and support of the 4-H Youth Development Program.

4-H Youth

4-H youth were presented awards for their project work, volunteer service, and a variety of achievements including Presidential Volunteers Service Awards, Camp Teen Leaders, Dairy Judging, Horse Bowl, Junior Fair Board and Diamond Clover Awards.

Each youth who completed and turned in a project record book for their work in 2007 received a 4-H patch and pin scarf to display the project pins they have earned or will earn in the future. The 100-plus scarves were made by 4-H volunteers Barbara Diefenderfer and Connie Lenhart.

Clovers, 4-H members who are 5 to 7 years of age, were also recognized with a certificate and piggy bank to encourage them to keep up the good work.

Members of the Fountaindale YMCA 4-H Afterschool Club were also acknowledged.

Maryland Agriculture Ambassador Jamie Beckley assisted 4-H Youth Development Educator Beth Bubacz and Shannon Sturtz with the distribution of awards.

Scholarships awarded

The presentation of scholarships is another highlight of the evening.

· DJ Stouffer of the YMCA and Washington County 4-H Youth Development Advisory Committee president, made presentations to the following winners:

· The Mildred A. Schmid Memorial Award, $1500: - Timmy Martin and Katie Frey

· The Washington County 4-H Dairy Scholarship, $500 - Spencer Leggett and Morgan Smith

· The Washington County Association for Family & Community Scholarship, $200 - Katie Frey

· The Washington County Horse Council 4-H Scholarship, $250 - Morgan Smith

The Herald-Mail Articles