Brull named Washington County Health System's Physician of the Year

April 03, 2008

Washington County Health System on Wednesday celebrated Doctors Day with the presentation of the annual Physician Excellence Awards.

Robert Brull, M.D., was named the 2008 Physician of the Year.

The event also honors physicians who were nominated for exemplifying excellence in six categories: service, quality, people, growth, finance, and community.

Eighty physicians were nominated by health system employees.

Top physicians were selected from among the nominees in each category: Ruth Dwyer, M.D., received the service award; Edward Drawbaugh, M.D., received the quality award; N. Adam Brown, M.D., received the people award; Frederic Kass III, M.D., received the growth award; Matthew Wagner, M.D., received the finance award; and Garry Seligman, M.D., received the community award.

James P. Hamill, president and CEO of Washington County Health System, was master of ceremonies.

"The Physician Excellence Awards are an opportunity to recognize physicians who have set the example of providing outstanding service to our community," he said in a prepared release.


Brull received several nominations, including one from an employee who wrote, "Dr. Brull has always provided the best quality of health care and exceptional service. He works well with others and exemplifies the core values of the hospital. He has also donated his time to the Community Free Clinic and educational programs."

Brull, who said he has worked for Washington County Hospital for 35 years, said he feels "the hospital has given me more than I have given back. The people who work here inspired me to become the doctor that I am."

The Herald-Mail Articles