Finalists for Washington County Public Schools Teacher of the Year named

April 01, 2008

Seven educators have been named finalists by the Washington County Public Schools Teacher of the Year Selection Committee.

The winner will be announced at the annual Educators of the Year Awards Banquet that honors public and private school educators April 23 at Fountain Head Country Club. The awards banquet is sponsored by the Hagerstown-Washington County Chamber of Commerce Foundation.

A private school teacher from Washington County will be recognized during the ceremony, said Donna Long, director of operations for the Hagerstown-Washington County Chamber of Commerce.

Registration and the opening reception begin at 5 p.m. with dinner scheduled for 6:15. The WCPS Center for Peak Performance and Productivity facilitates the Teacher of the Year program in collaboration with the Chamber of Commerce.


This year's Teacher of the Year finalists for Washington County Public Schools are:

· Shanna Byrd, Grade 2 magnet teacher, Funkstown School for Early Childhood Education: Byrd has been teaching for six years and was named a Mix 95.1 Teacher of the Week in 2006 and 2007.

· Tameron Marriner, kindergarten teacher, Eastern Elementary: Marriner has 20 years of teaching experience and was the 2002 Sam's Club Teacher of the Year.

· Theresa Mullican, kindergarten teacher, Bester Elementary: A Disney Teacher of the Year nominee, Mullican has been a teacher for 20 years.

· Joan Myers, Grade 8 English Language Arts teacher, Clear Spring Middle School: Myers, the 1999 Morgan County (W.Va.) Teacher of the Year, has 17 years of teaching experience.

· F. Martin Nikirk, Advanced Computer Applications teacher, Washington County Technical High School: Nikirk, who has been teaching for 24 years, received the 2007 Distinguished Service Teacher Award from the National Association of State Directors of Career Technology Education Consortium and the MSDE Career Technology Education Program Award of Excellence in 2006.

· Jacqueline Row, Physical Education teacher, Williamsport High School: A 2007 recipient of the Simon McNeeley Award, Row has been teaching for nine years.

· Gretchen Smith, Advanced Placement and International Baccalaureate Social Studies teacher, North Hagerstown High School: Smith has 10 years of teaching experience. In 2006, her We the People team earned second place in the district competition.

The selected Washington County Public Schools teacher will advance to the state level for further recognition and consideration as Maryland's Teacher of the Year.

Smithsburg Elementary School teacher Gwen Pangborn was named Teacher of the Year in 2007.

If you go

What: Educators of the Year Awards Banquet

When: April 23

Where: Fountain Head Country Club, Hagerstown

Details: To register for the awards banquet, call Donna Long at the Hagerstown-Washington County Chamber of Commerce at 301-739-2015.

The Herald-Mail Articles