Martinsburg mayor, four council members unopposed in election

February 29, 2008|By MATTHEW UMSTEAD

MARTINSBURG, W.Va. - Martinsburg Mayor George Karos and four of seven members of the city council apparently will not be opposed in the city's June 10 municipal election.

As of Thursday at 5 p.m., City Recorder Sharon A. Flick said that no one had filed to run against Karos, 76, who is seeking a third four-year term.

Residents could file petitions and required candidacy paperwork by mail as long as it was postmarked by Thursday at midnight, but Flick did not expect that to happen.

Also running unopposed as of Thursday were Ward II Councilman Richard L. Yauger, 75, Ward III Councilman Max G. Parkinson, 73, Ward IV Councilman Roger Lewis, 71, and Ward V Councilwoman Betty B. Gunnoe, who Flick said filed for election Monday.


Incumbent Councilman At Large Gregg Wachtel, 54, and newly appointed councilmen Dennis Etherington, 57, (Ward I), and Rodney Woods, 60, (At Large), will face opposition.

Former Ward IV and Ward V Councilman Glenville Twigg, 62, announced Thursday that he would run for one of the two at-large seats in a press conference at his business at 110 Centre St.

Kevin Knowles, 49, also has filed for an at-large seat, Flick said.

Etherington is opposed by fellow Ward I resident Jason W. Baker, 25.

Appointed in January, Etherington replaced Shari Persad, who resigned in December. Woods was appointed in December to replace Donald Anderson, who resigned for health reasons.

Karos announced last summer that he would seek another four-year term as mayor. Karos first was elected as mayor in 2000 and re-elected in 2004. Karos served on the city council for about 25 years, according to state records.

The Herald-Mail Articles