Election campaign officially kicks off in W.Va.

January 15, 2008|By DAVE McMILLION

CHARLES TOWN, W.Va. - The race is on.

A large number of public offices like county commission, sheriff, magistrate, circuit judge, House of Delegates and state Senate will be up for grabs in the Eastern Panhandle this year, and the filing period to run for the offices started Monday.

The filing period will run until midnight Jan. 26.

Candidates running for local offices like county commission, sheriff, magistrate and single-county legislative districts file in county clerk offices in their respective counties, election officials said.

Candidates for offices that cross county lines file with the state Secretary of State's office in Charleston, W.Va.

The primary election is May 13 and the general election is Nov. 4.

Political observers in Jefferson County say they are expecting an interesting election year based on the number of people who have already indicated they will run for office and candidates who have filed precandidacy papers.


Two seats are up for grabs on the Jefferson County Commission, and the Jefferson County sheriff's job is open, among other races.

As of mid-afternoon Monday, Democrat Louis Brunswick had filed for Jefferson County Sheriff and Democrat Patsy Noland had filed to run for the Kabletown district seat on the county commission, said Nikki Painter, deputy clerk in the Jefferson County Clerk's office.

Democrat Gail Boober filed for re-election as a Jefferson County Magistrate, Painter said.

All three magistrate seats are up for grabs this year, Painter said.

On the state level, Republican Daryl Cowles has filed for re-election to the 51st House of Delegates seat and Democrat Thornton Cooper of South Charleston, W.Va., has filed for West Virginia's second congressional district seat in the U.S. House of Representatives, according to the Secretary of State's office Web site.

In Berkeley County, those filing for magistrate were incumbents Joan V. Bragg, Democrat, 507 Jasmine Lane, Martinsburg; Sandy L. Miller, Democrat, 789 Butlers Chapel Road, Martinsburg; and Harry Lee Snow, Republican, 7485 Back Creek Valley Road, Hedgesville.

Carlton (Cootsie) DeHaven, Republican, 194 Dinali Drive, Martinsburg and Richard "Dick" Steerman, Democrat, 1882 Mouth of Opequon Road, Martinsburg have filed for Berkeley County sheriff and Anthony J. (Tony) Petrucci, Democrat, 59 Collins Drive, Martinsburg, and R. Klaus Heitmann, Mountain, 143 Confederate Drive, Martinsburg, have filed to run for Berkeley County Commission.

Paul Lewis Flick, Republican, 1598 Palmer Road, Martinsburg, has filed to run for Berkeley County Surveyor.

Important dates

Jan. 26: Last day to file for 2008 election

May 13: Primary election

Nov. 4: General election

The Herald-Mail Articles