Local Area Results

December 10, 2007


PTL 45, Senior Notes 24

PTL: Miranda 10, Louderback 9, Scott 8, Heiston 8, Ober 5, Mack 2, Shaffer 2, Beachley 1.

Senior Notes: Fortson 8, Blanks 6, Colvin 4, Ezidinma 4, Taylor 2.

Funkstown 60, Hagerstown Lions 22

Funkstown: Prather 14, Byard 13, Horton 10, Maust 10, Hovermale 7, Dattilio 4, Kratzer 2.

Hagerstown Lions: Lare 9, Wiley 7, Scott 4, Johnson 2.

Western Enterprise 48, Knights of Columbus 30

Western Enterprise: Fields 20, Hill 9, Ploana 7, Butts 4, Pietro 3, Kirlew 3, Bhutto 2.

Knights of Columbus: Butcher 8, Boutieloer 8, Carbaugh 4, Adkins 4, Przywieczerky 4, Lyle 2.


Hagerstown Speedway celebrates season


Hagerstown Speedway's 60th Anniversary season officially ended Saturday evening with the Annual awards banquet at the Clarion Hotel & Convention Center. The top drivers were rewarded for their efforts in front of a crowd of more than 500.

The top 15 drivers in each of the weekly divisions, including Cindy Rowe Auto Glass late models, Hoosier Tire Mid-Atlantic late model sportsman and Ernie's Auto Enterprises pure stocks, each received point fund checks while the top 10 also received point fund checks and trophies. The top five drivers in each division received 60th Anniversary die Cast cars.

J.T. Spence, of Winchester, Va., earned his first Cindy Rowe Auto Glass late model championship, competing in all 22 events held. He had one win, 10 top fives and 18 top 10s.

Andy Fries, of Mercersburg, Pa., defended his title in the Hoosier Tire-Mid Atlantic Tire late model sportsman division. Fries ended one win, nine top fives and 11 top 10s in the 13 point events and had one win, 11 top fives and 13 top 10s in 15 overall events.

Mark Jones of Greencastle, Pa., earned his first title in the Ernie's Auto Enterprises pure stock. Jones ended with three wins, 11 top fives and 12 top 10s in 14 point events while he ended with another win, 13 top fives and 14 10s in the overall 16 events.

Special awards were presented to various drivers in each of the three divisions. Receiving awards in the late model division were Billy Wampler (Sportsmanship Award), Roy Deese Jr. (Hard Luck Award), Alan Sagi (Best Appearing Car Award) and Brent Smith (Most Improved Award). Former late model sportsman driver, Terry Lescalleet, was awarded Rookie of the Year.

Those in the late model sportsman included Pete Weaver (Sportsmanship Award), Arlin Brougher (Hard Luck Award), Terry Flaherty (Best Appearing Car Award) and both Kyle Lear and Steve Axtell Jr. (Most Improved Awards). Ashley Barrett, from street stocks, received Rookie of the Year.

In the pure stocks, it was Hans Stamberg (Sportsmanship Award), Wayne Hawbaker (Hard Luck Award), Kenny Dayhoff Jr. (Most Improved Award) and Bobby Taylor (Best Appearing Car Award).

The Crew chief of the year awards went to Jimmy McFarland (Spence), Toby Fries (Fries) and Lester Nichols (Jones).

Receiving Hagerstown Speedway Hall of Fame awards were Stanley Dillon, Owings Mills, Md. and Rodney Franklin of White Post, Va.

The Herald-Mail Articles