Key races likely to be decided Tuesday in Chambersburg

November 05, 2007|By JENNIFER FITCH

CHAMBERSBURG, PA. - Local government decisions will be before Pennsylvania voters in Tuesday's municipal election.

Polls open at 7 a.m. for Franklin County voters to select school board members, township supervisors, county commissioners and borough council members. Other offices on ballots include controller, coroner, sheriff and prothonotary.

Through a partnership with the Franklin County Election Board, developing results will be posted on as they become available.

Four of the county's 74 polling places have been changed.

Chambersburg voters from precincts 2-1 and 2-2 (who voted at Chambersburg Area Senior High School and Andrew Buchanan Elementary School, respectively) will instead cast ballots at the Chambersburg Area School District administration building on Stanley Avenue.

Voters from Chambersburg precinct 5-1 will be sent to Chambersburg Bible Church at 810 Orchard Drive instead of Chambersburg Area Middle School.


Mercersburg-area voters typically using MMP&W Volunteer Fire Co. polls are instead asked to go to the First United Methodist Church at 11 N. Fayette St.

Voters who are unsure of their local polling place can check their registration card or call 717-261-3886.

Polls close at 8 p.m., but registered voters who are in line at 8 p.m. will be allowed to vote.

New county commissioners will soon be sworn onto the Franklin County board, ending a 12-year stint of the same trio. G. Warren Elliott and Cheryl Plummer did not seek re-election to fourth terms.

Three-term Republican incumbent Bob Thomas will appear on ballots along with Republican David S. Keller and Democrats Cheryl Stearn and Bob Ziobrowski.

Voters may vote for up to two candidates for county commissioner, according to a news release from the Franklin County Election Board.

More than two selections in that race results in an "overvote" and an alert from the ballot counter, the news release stated.

Other contested races in Franklin County include those for Antrim Township supervisor, Chambersburg mayor and regional seats on the Waynesboro Area School Board.

In Antrim Township, Fred Young III is running uncontested for a two-year supervisor term. Democrat John Alleman and Republican Rick Baer appear on ballots for one six-year term.

Two men are looking to fill the remaining two years of the Chambersburg mayoral term of John Redding, who died in May.

The county Republican committee nominated outgoing sheriff Robert Wollyung. The Democrats nominated Pete Lagiovane, a member of the borough's planning and zoning commission.

The only Waynesboro Area School Board race that will appear contested on ballots is for the district's North End, which encompasses the Borough of Mont Alto, Quincy Township, South Mountain and part of Guilford Township.

There, Republicans Lee Daywalt, Ed Wilson and Firmadge Crutchfield will square off for two seats. Daywalt will appear as a Democrat on ballots after winning the party's nomination in May's primary election.

Mindy Rouzer, a Democrat and local chiropractor, recently announced a write-in campaign against Republican homemaker Jennifer Johns, who won the Democratic and Republican nominations to the school board's Borough of Waynesboro seat in May.

Voters throughout the state also will be given a retention ballot on which they will be asked to select "yes" or "no" on whether various judges should be kept in their roles.

In Fulton County, contested races exist for commissioner and sheriff and in a handful of townships.

In the commissioner race, Republican incumbents Bonnie Mellott-Keefer and Daniel H. Swain Jr. are being challenged by Democrats David R. Hoover II and Irvin Dasher. In the race for sheriff, Democrat Peggy Sue Bailey faces Republican Keith B. Stains.

The Herald-Mail Articles