YOU ARE HERE: HeraldMail HomeCollectionsFsa

Balloting for FSA county committee begins Friday

October 30, 2007

Colleen Cashell, county executive director of USDA's Farm Service Agency in Washington County, announced that the 2007 FSA county committee elections start Friday in Local Administrative Area #3 of Washington County, which is the area east of Interstate 81 and south of Md. 68 from Williamsport to Boonsboro and then south of Alternate U.S. 40 to the Frederick County border.

"The FSA county committee system is unique among government agencies, because it allows producers to make important decisions concerning the local administration of federal farm programs," said Cashell. "I urge all eligible farmers, including minorities and women, to get involved and make a real difference in their communities by voting in this year's elections."

Committee members apply their knowledge and judgment to make decisions on disaster and conservation payments, establishment of crop yields, producer appeals, employing FSA county executive directors and other local FSA program administration issues. FSA committees operate within official regulations designed to carry out federal laws.


To be an eligible voter, farmers must participate or cooperate in FSA programs. A person who is not of legal voting age, but supervises and conducts the farming operations of an entire farm, can also vote. Agricultural producers submitted candidate names for this election during the nomination period held last summer.

Eligible voters who do not receive ballots in the coming week, can obtain ballots at the local USDA Service Center at 1260 Maryland Ave., Suite 107, Hagerstown.

Dec. 3 is the last day for voters to submit ballots in person to local USDA service centers. Ballots returned by mail must be postmarked no later than Dec. 3.

Newly elected committee members and alternates take office Jan. 1, 2008. The counting of the ballots will occur at the USDA Service Center on Dec. 7. This election process is open for public viewing.

Nearly 8,000 FSA county committee members meet monthly at more than 2,300 FSA offices nationwide. Each committee consists of three to five members who serve three-year terms. Approximately one-third of county committee seats are up for election annually.

For more information about FSA county committees and FSA programs, visit

The Herald-Mail Articles