Washington Co. redistricting proposals that were approved by school board

October 18, 2007

The following redistricting changes were approved Tuesday by the Washington County Board of Education:

· Establish partial north boundary for Rockland Woods Elementary by including all areas in the Funkstown/Emma K. Doub elementary district south of Interstate 70.

· Establish partial south boundary for Rockland Woods by including the most northern tip of Sharpsburg district north of Keedysville Road.

· Establish partial south and west boundary for Rockland Woods by including all areas of the current Fountain Rock Elementary district east of Fairplay Road and Reichard Road.


· Establish partial south, west and north boundary of Rockland Woods by including all areas of the current Fountain Rock district north of the intersection of Carty Lane and Downsville Pike.

· Enlarge Lincolnshire Elementary boundaries by including all areas of the current Emma K. Doub/Funkstown district west of the Norfolk Southern Railroad.

· Enlarge Lincolnshire boundaries by including the southernmost portion of Winter Street Elementary district south of Wesel Boulevard.

· Enlarge Springfield Middle and Williamsport High boundaries to include all current Lincolnshire boundaries and the proposed new Lincolnshire boundary changes.

· Reconfigure the balance of Emma K. Doub district to include all first- through fifth-grade students in the area north of Interstate 70.

· Enlarge Emma K. Doub boundary by including the easternmost portion of Lincolnshire district east of the Norfolk Southern Railroad tracks.

· Enlarge Emma K. Doub boundary by including all areas of Bester Elementary west of Frederick Street, south of Rose Hill Cemetery and south of Wilson Boulevard.

· Reconfigure Funkstown to include all prekindergarten and kindergarten students at the newly reconfigured Emma K. Doub and current Eastern elementary schools.

· Enlarge Maugansville Elementary boundary by including all areas of Paramount Elementary north of Long Meadow Road and west of CSX Railroad.

· Enlarge Maugansville boundaries to include all areas of Conococheague Elementary north of U.S. 40 and along both sides of Md. 63 and adjoining roads, including Powers Estates.

· Enlarge Old Forge Elementary boundary to include a portion of Millers Church Road.

· Enlarge Conococheague Elementary boundaries including southwestern tip of Salem Avenue, including Washington County Business Park area.

· Maintain the current Pangborn Elementary boundaries.

· Delay the closing of Conococheague.

The Herald-Mail Articles