September 25, 2007

Mayor: Mildred "Mickey" Myers, 301-739-1385

Town council:

Shirley Aurand, 301-824-7635

Jerome Martin, 301-824-5271

Tom Chiarizia, 301-824-3780

Dennis "Jack" Wenthe, 301-824-3977

Thomas B. Smith, 301-824-2663

Town Hall: 301-824-7234

Meeting: The first Tuesday of each month at 7 p.m. at Town Hall.

Population: 2,894


History: Christopher Smith was born around 1750 in the area where he eventually developed a town. Smith purchased land from Samuel B. McClanahan of Chester County, Pa., in 1813, and began to divide the lots and lay out a town. The town was incorporated in 1846.

Electricity: Allegheny Power, 1-800-255-3443

Telephone company: Verizon, 301-954-6230. For questions about a late bill or shut-off notice, call 301-954-6240.

Water and sewer: Water is purchased through the City of Hagerstown, but all billing matters are handled at Smithsburg Town Hall. Smithsburg owns the sewer distribution system, and Washington County owns the sewage treatment plant. If problems arise, call Town Hall.

Cable TV: Antietam Cable, 301-797-5000

Recycling: Take recyclable materials to the recycling bin behind the Smithsburg Volunteer Fire Co. on Main Street or to the county's Greensburg Transfer Station landfill on Bikle Road.

Trash pickup: Mondays and Thursdays

Parks: Smithsburg Community Park off Md. 64 and Veterans Park off Md. 66

The Herald-Mail Articles