Franklin Co. leaders honored

August 13, 2007

CHAMBERSBURG, Pa. - Two Franklin County Commissioners who are relinquishing their offices this year were honored this week by a state association.

G. Warren Elliott and Cheryl S. Plummer are the 2007 Outstanding County Commissioners in Pennsylvania as decided by the County Commissioners Association of Pennsylvania, according to a news release.

"No Franklin County commissioner has ever won this award. We were both pleased and surprised by this great honor given to us by our peers," Elliott said in the release.

"With over 230 commissioners and council members across Pennsylvania, it is humbling to be considered the best," he said.

Elliott, in the nomination letter, was cited for his service to the agriculture community through the farmland preservation program. He was also lauded for his management skills as commissioners' chairman for 12 years and his commitment to the county government's efficiency and customer service.


Plummer has been a member of the CCAP Human Services Committee for 12 years and has led the statewide committee for the last four years, the news release stated.

She was cited for her dedication to human services and her advocacy work with the legislature in this field.

"CCAP is a great organization. It was my honor to do whatever I could to help them advance the cause," Plummer said.

"With their years of service to both Franklin County and this organization, we couldn't give it to just one of them," said Donna Gority, a Blair County commissioner and member of the selection committee.

"We finally decided that it would have to be both," she said.

Elliott and Plummer opted this year not to seek a fourth term.

Democrats Bob Ziobrowski and Cheryl Stearn won primary election bids this May; on the Republican side, David S. Keller and incumbent Bob Thomas won the primary.

The foursome will face off for the three seats this November.

The Herald-Mail Articles