South Hagerstown High School

August 05, 2007

South Hagerstown High School held its graduation ceremony June 8 in the school gymnasium. Roxanne Ober, president of the Washington County Board of Education, was the guest speaker and presented diplomas to the 219 members of the Class of 2007.

Matthew Deppen, son of Greg and Debbie Deppen, was class valedictorian. His interests include sports, particuarly the Baltimore Orioles, Dallas Cowboys and University of Maryland Terrapins, and watching television. He plans to attend the University of Maryland, College Park.

Salutatorian Kaitlin Trump spoke on the topic, "Some Other Beginnings End." The daughter of Kelly Trump was a four-year member of National Honor Society and likes to scuba dive and play lacrosse. She plans to attend Florida Institute of Technology.

Chelsea Weaver was senior class president.

Richard Akers is South High's principal.

Awards and honors won by the Class of 2007 included:

Matthew Adams - Rebel Sports Booster Award

Christopher Bell - Liberty University Champions Award, True Grit Award


Nicholas Benner - Richard M. Schultz Memorial Scholarship

Drew Berger - Allen K. Graham Outstanding Male Award, Gus Baker Memorial Scholarship, Margaret Bell Miller Scholarship, A.B. Miller Scholarship

Jennifer Bezerra - Washington and Lee University Book Award

Lawrence Bishop Jr. - South High Outstanding Student Award, Federal Purdue New Scholar Award, St. Vincent Honor Student Award, Pennsylvania Non-PA Student Award, Chancellor's Award

Devonne Bowers - Rawlings EA Grant Award

Charles Boyer Jr. - Virginia Tech Award

KeSaundra Bryant - Howard University Laureate Scholarship, Rochester Institute of Technology Presidential Scholarship, LeMoyne College Loyola Scholarship

David Bugosh - Excellence in Mathematics Award

Kayla Butts - Johnson & Wales Merit Scholarship

Rachel Caruso - Savannah College of Art & Design Academic Honors Award, Savannah College of Art & Design Student Opportunity Scholarship, Funkstown Lions Club Scholarship, Hagerstown Lions Club/Massey Roe Youth Foundation Scholarship

Melissa Cecil - Allen K. Graham Outstanding Female Award, Funkstown Lions Club "Petey Bates" Scholarship

Carly Chambers - The Girl Scouts of America Gold Award

Amy Clipp - Mount St. Mary's University Trustee Scholarship, Lions Club of Halfway SARA Award, South High Alumni Association Scholarship, The Bill Maletsky Scholarship, Washington County Retired Educational Association Scholarship, Frostburg State University Academic Distinction, Steven K. Spalding II Memorial Scholarship

Spencer Cromer - Mount St. Mary's University Baseball Scholarship

Jason David - Ted C. Hoover Jr. Memorial Scholarship Award, Penn State Chancellor's Award

Matthew Deppen - University of Maryland University Honors Award

Ashley Ellis - Michael Loper Memorial Scholarship

Samantha Evans - South Hagerstown High School Yearbook Award, Myerly & Lowe Yearbook Award, Sherryl Koontz Memorial Scholarship

Priscilla Fernandes - Maryland Higher Education Commission Award

Krystyn Ferraiuole - Lions Club of Halfway SARA Award, Washington County Chapter of the American Red Cross

Jennifer Files - Susan Jane Hopkins Art Award

Tara Goff - Brigham Young University Heber J. Grant Scholarship, Brigham Young University Quarter Tuition Award of Excellence, Hagerstown Elks Lodge 378 Scholarship, Robert C. Byrd Scholar

Katie Gonder - Maryland FBLA Scholarship, South Hagerstown High School FBLA Award

Susan Gore - WVU Blue & Gold Level 1 Scholarship, Hood College Presidential Scholarship, University of South Florida Scholars Award, Maryland Distinguished Scholar

Kaitlin Green - Johnson & Wales University Scholarship

Brianna Hammond - University of Charleston Academic Scholarship, University of Charleston Involvement Scholarship, Jimmie and Jennifer Harne Memorial Scholarship, Mountain State University Softball Scholarship, Misericordia College Presidential Scholarship, Misericordia College Medical Imaging Scholarship, Misericordia College Mission Award, Mount Aloysius Academic Scholarship

Megan Hammond - Hagerstown Business College Award, HBC Edward J. Hajek Memorial Computer Technology Scholarship, Maryland State Award

Michael Hockensmith - University of Maryland Baltimore County Dean's Academic Scholarship, Washington & Jefferson Presidential Scholarship, Butler Academic Excellence Scholarship

Benjamin Johnson - Hagerstown Elks Lodge 378 "Citizenship Award", Calvin College Dean's Scholarship, Calvin College Grant, ENC Academic Scholarship, Olivet Academic Scholarship

Jessica Jones - Academic Excellence Scholarship

Trey Jones - Allen K. Graham Football Scholarship, South High Principal's Award, Rebel Sports Boosters Award, South High Alumni Association Scholarship, Hagerstown Elks Lodge 378 Teen Award, Frank "Wimp" Hamburg Award

Carrissa Kesler - Bausch & Lomb Honorary Science Award, Lynchburg College Presidential Scholarship, Maryland Higher Education Commission Award

The Herald-Mail Articles