Clear Spring High School

July 29, 2007

Clear Spring High School held its 2007 graduation ceremony June 7 in the school auditorium. Washington County Board of Education Vice President Wayne Ridenour and Anthony Trotta, the school system's chief legal counsel, presented diplomas to 101 graduates.

Valedictorian Nicholas Wayne Smith spoke on "Taking the Risk." The son of Donald and Kendra Smith, his activities include snowboarding, water boarding, soccer and tennis. He plans to major in chemical or aerospace engineering and play intercollegiate soccer at the U.S. Air Force Academy.

Co-salutatorian Erica Carolyn Hernandez spoke on "Capture the Moment." The daughter of Nicole Trimmer loves writing and performing ... anything to do with musical theater. She was president of the Student Council, reporter for the Future Business Leaders of America chapter and a member of the Reflections Show Choir, drama club and National Honor Society. She plans to attend Penn State and pursue a career in journalism.

Co-salutatorian Emily Jane Myers spoke on "Success." The daughter of Mary and Amy Myers loves reading and singing, especially with the Reflections Show Choir and A Cappella Choir. She was political vice president of the Student Government Association and a member of the History Club, Jazz Band, varsity tennis team and Drama Club. She will enroll in the A. James Clark School of Engineering at the University of Maryland, College Park, where she plans to study engineering.


Lindsay Foust was senior class president. Michael J. Shockey is the school principal.

The following awards and scholarships were presented to graduates:

Clear Spring Lions Club Scholarship - Brenna House, Dustin Adams, Amy Burgessor, Brie Milburn, Justine Grove.

George A. Sites Memorial Award - Emily Myers.

Walter Peterman Memorial Award - Chris Poet (music) and Emily Myers (science).

Town of Clear Spring Mayoral Scholarship - Theresa Mills.

Mason Mundey Award - Theresa Mills.

Pauline E. Forsyth Award - Sarah Ritchick, Brie Ann Milburn, Sarah Faith, Justine Grove.

Outstanding Agriculture Student Award - Brenna House.

Samuel Shields Secrest Agriculture Award - Katherine McCormick.

Frank (Cotton) Zimmerman Award - Autumn Brown.

Natasha R. Henson Memorial Award - Theresa Mills.

Del. LeRoy Myers Jr. Scholarship - Rebecca Slate.

Lizzie and Ella Snyder Award - Erica Hernandez.

Cornelius K. Snyder Award - Kyle Reese.

Sons of the American Legion Squadron 222 Scholarship - Brie Ann Milburn, Maggie Wolford.

Clear Spring High School Scholarship - Mary Beth Dunning.

Nora and Theodore Snyder History Award - Erik DeVault.

Wilson Ruritan Club Scholarship - Melanie Alvarez, Theresa Mills.

Hagerstown Elks Lodge 378 Citizenship Award - Nicholas Smith, Victoria Hatcher.

Hagerstown Elks Lodge 378 Teenager of the Year - Emily Myers, Jeremy Spangler.

Baccalaureate Award - Andrea Robison.

Award of Merit - Molly Gur, Natalie Stephenson, Andrea Robison, Cayla Donahue, Robin Lucas.

Clear Spring Elementary PTA Scholarshp - Bethani Mummert, Donald Harkcom.

Conococheague Elementary School Scholarship - Christina Robinson.

Joseph C. Herbert American Legion Post 222 Auxiliary Scholarship - Brie Ann Milburn.

Pearl Ernst Scholarship - Lindsay Foust.

The Herald-Mail Articles