Students in Pa. awarded Lenfest scholarships

July 09, 2007

Eight Franklin County high school juniors recently were awarded Lenfest College Scholarships, according to a press release from the Lenfest Foundation.

The recipients are Renee Byers, Ryan Gayman, Ethan Grandel and Aarin Wade, all of Chambersburg Area Senior High School; Craig Hayes and Diana Stottlemyer, both of Greencastle-Antrim High School; Emily Mishler of Waynesboro Area Senior High School; and Rachel Reeder of James Buchanan High School.

The students are among 15 Pennsylvania high school juniors who were selected for the award, and are eligible to receive up to $12,000 per year for four years of attendance at an accredited U.S. college or university, according to the release.

In order to receive their scholarship, the students must remain enrolled in their schools and graduate in 2008. The students then must enroll full time at an accredited U.S. college or university by the fall of 2008 and make normal progress toward an undergraduate degree. The foundation will provide counseling to the students throughout their senior year to assist with the college admissions process, according to the release.


The foundation also awarded one-time scholarships of $1,000 each to finalists from Franklin County. The finalists are Colleen Bradley, Christopher Brown, Sarah Brown and Laura Fawks, all of Waynesboro Area Senior High School; Minzhi Chen and Brittany Lehman, both of Chambersburg Area Senior High School; and Matthew Copenhaver of Greencastle-Antrim High School.

The finalists must graduate from their schools in 2008 and enroll full time in an accredited U.S. college or university in the fall of 2008 to receive the scholarship, according to the release.

Scholarships were awarded based on a student's ambition to succeed at a challenging college or university, a student's academic achievement and potential, a student's leadership qualities and financial need, according to the release.

The Lenfest Foundation has awarded scholarships to 36 students since the Lenfest College Scholarship program started in 2002.

The Lenfest College Scholarship Program is open to students in their junior year at Chambersburg Area, Fannett-Metal, Greencastle-Antrim, James Buchanan and Waynesboro Area high schools in Franklin County; Biglerville, Bermudian Springs and New Oxford high schools in Adams County; Octorara Area High School in Chester County; and Upper Perkiomen High School in Montgomery County.

The Herald-Mail Articles