July 08, 2007

The Hagerstown Branch of the American Association of University Women (AAUW) held its annual end-of-year picnic June 12 at Doub's Woods Park.

Diane Roca, president of AAUW Maryland, installed the officers for the coming year.

The new officers are Beti Ruos, president; Roseann Fisher, public policy vice president; and Christine Ellis, recording secretary. Continuing in office for the coming year are Robbie Matonak and Carol Mendelsohn, program vice presidents; Louise Abdullah and Barbara Bowers, membership vice presidents; Dolores Maletsky, corresponding secretary; and Sheri Specht, treasurer.

Ruos also announced the appointed board members for the new year: Jo Ellen Allenberg, newsletter editor; Diane Sanford, diversity chair; Wanda Gerstner, chair for the coordinator; Judy Chaney, children's issues and Fall Book Sale co-chair; Sheri Specht, international chair; Joann Fillingham, scholarship and public awareness chair; Mary Myers, finance; Beti Ruos, remembrances; Nina Wells, Fall Book Sale co-chair; and Jeanne Stoner, book sale co-coordinator.

Special guests at the picnic were recipients of the AAUW scholarships for the 2007-08 school year. The scholarships are available from the proceeds of the organization's two book sales each year. The next sale is the Fall Book Sale, scheduled for Oct. 18-20 at the E.J. Fennel Building, 324 E. Antietam St., Hagerstown.


The Rotary Club of Mercersburg (Pa.) recently received several district awards for their service to the community.

At the District 7350 conference, the Mercersburg club was given the Governor's Community Service Award recognizing it as having the second highest achievement in service to the local community for small clubs.

This award reflects the club's commitment to supporting Santa's Toy Box, The Dictionary Project, High School Scholarship and financial support for MAYO and the playground program, as well as its willingness to consider other worthwhile community projects.

While the Rotary Club of Mercersburg has only 21 members, District 7350 is comprised of 45 clubs with more than 2,100 members.

In addition, the club collected and shipped the second largest number of shoes in the district for the Shoes For Nicaragua Project. Thanks to the overwhelming support of the community, members collected 437 pairs of shoes, surpassing clubs much larger than theirs.

The Rotary Club of Mercersburg meets each Thursday from noon to 1 p.m. at the Mercersburg Moose Lodge. If you are interested in attending for a meeting to see what we are all about, contact Liza Main at 717-328-9009, Kathy Hartung at 717-328-5055 or Mary-Anne Gordon at the Mercersburg Area Chamber of Commerce office at 717-328-5827.

The Waynesboro Area YMCA recently presented its YMCA Strong Kids and Strong Communities awards to recognize those passionate volunteers who have set the bar high for others by exceeding all expectations, always willing to lend a hand (or foot) without resistance, and always looking to serve others.

Robert Stum, this year's recipient of the 2007 Waynesboro Area YMCA Building Strong Kids award, is recognized by local, state, and national leaders in his field. Known as Mr. Soccer in the Waynesboro area, Stum coached high school soccer for 35 years, was camp director at Elizabethtown College for 26 years, established a girls' intramural program, began the YMCA youth soccer program with Larry Price (previous award winner), serves as commissioner of the WYSA program and still finds time to coach and teach whenever and wherever needed.

Greg Duffey, recipient of the 2007 Building Strong Communities award, has served as solicitor, campaign chair, vice president, and president (twice) of the Waynesboro Area and is a current YMCA trustee. A consistory member of Trinity United Church of Christ, he has served as a Red Cross board member and president, YMCA Capital Campaign leader, Waynesboro Industrial Development Corp. member and president, president of the Waynesboro Day Care board, president of the Waynesboro Welfare Association, member of the Susquehanna Bank Advisory Board and coaching various sports, among other activities.

On Saturday, June 23, members of the C&O Canal Association manned a booth at Dam #4 to gather signatures on a petition to urge the National Park Service to restore the break in the canal towpath so that it will not be necessary to traverse the six-mile detour on Washington County roads. Although funds have been appropriated to conduct engineering studies, the park service has not yet announced how they will restore the towpath, or a timetable for accomplishing it.

At times during the day, there was a line waiting to sign the petition. "Every hiker and biker who traveled the detour has been anxious to sign," said Tom Perry, chairman of the Slackwater Restoration Committee.

The committee will be at stations soliciting signatures at various locations along the towpath all summer long in hopes of convincing the park service of the community's support for the restoration.

Tom Perry of Williamsport, chairman of the Slackwater Restoration Committee, solicits a signature from Linda Hall of Cary, N.C. Looking on at right is Ron Howard of Rockville, Md., a member of the C&O Canal Association board of directors.

The Herald-Mail Articles