Student news

July 01, 2007

Meghann O'Reilly, daughter of Marcia Mackley and Jerry Hoffman, graduated from the University of Maryland, College Park, on May 21 with a bachelor's degree in government and politics.

She has been accepted by the Duquesne University School of Law in Pittsburgh.

The Alsatia Club of Hagerstown recently presented its Robert L. Worthington Memorial Scholarship to Brittany Horn, a 2007 graduate of Williamsport High School.

Brittany, the daughter of James and Kelly Horn of Williamsport, plans to attend Hagerstown Community College and pursue a degree in elementary education.

The scholarship was established by Hilda Worthington in memory of her husband, Robert, a longtime member of Alsatia.

Michelle Fickes of Hagerstown graduated from Virginia Tech, Blacksburg, Va., on May 12 with a degree in civil engineering.

Fickes is employed by the state of North Carolina and is working as an engineer in Raleigh, N.C. She is a 2003 graduate of North Hagerstown High School.


The following Washington County students were named to the dean's list at Salisbury University for the spring 2007 semester:

Boonsboro - Kristin Hutchinson, Andrew Landsman, Susana Vargas.

Clear Spring - Breanne Forrest, Kayla Semler.

Funkstown - Jessica Gonder.

Gapland - Brandi Lane.

Hagerstown - Laura Cheung, Hillary Grove, William Kerns, Heather Kurtz, Sarah Long, Michael Marfut, Matthew Piston, Samantha Schweinhart, Felicia Smith, Jessica Smith, Jessica Spickler, Matthew Sullivan, Jacqueline Vitale.

Rohrersville - Raythorne Henderson.

Sharpsburg - Brian Smith.

Smithsburg - Brandon Dingle, Laura Lindsay, Colleen Martin, Brittany Meadows, Jordan Williams.

Williamsport - Jessica Cline.

Nicholas H. Mellott, a resident of Hagerstown, was named to the dean's list at Boston University for the spring 2007 semester.

Boston University awarded academic degrees to 5,358 students in May. Among the graduates was Bijoy Bandy of Hagerstown, who received a Master of Arts degree in science education.

The following end-of-year awards were presented at Saint Mary Catholic School:

Eighth grade graduation awards:

Highest academic achievements: Maria Jones, Gabrielle McDermott, Isabella Schiro, Max Stockslager.

For exemplifying the spirit of effort and cooperation: Katherine Forsythe, Kevin Hackett Jr.

For demonstrating consistent Christian attitude and faith: Gabrielle McDermott, Colleen McCauley.

Student council award leadership: Kevin Hackett Jr., Maria Jones, Gabrielle McDermott.

President's award for educational excellence: Samantha Barger, Alexis Cleary, Giavanni DeSantis, Nikhil Gupta, Aric Hilmoe, Maria Jones, Adam Marinelli, Gabrielle McDermott, Amanda Miller, Isabella Schiro, Mark Sokol, Max Stockslager, Danielle Warren.

President's Physical Fitness Award: Kevin Hackett, Maria Jones, Zachariah Fawaz.

National physical fitness award: Meghan Holtz, Danielle Warren, Margaret Elizabeth Noe, Isabella Schiro, Alexa Radley, Stephanie Sasse, Samantha Barger, Giavanni DeSantis, Molly Draper, Alexis Cleary, Aric Hilmoe.

Perfect attendance: Samantha Barger, Gabrielle McDermott, Kevin Sokol, Katherine Forsythe, Alexa Radley, Mark Sokol.

Perfect attendance, grades 1 through 7: Jared Semler, Bailey Adams, Michael Cosey, Alden Grosh, Spencer Prete, Dalton Sponaugle, Brook Grosh, Abigail Theis, Colin Sappenfield, John Theis, Justin Semler, Nathaniel Hammer, Ryan Hackett, Chase Landaker, Niklas Steiner, Matthew McDermott, Adam Blenckstone, Joseph Theis, Joshua Semler, Christian Grosh, Daniel Joliet, Patrick McDermott.

Bachelor's and master's degrees were awarded to 449 graduates of Hood College, Frederick, Md., on May 19, with National Public Radio's Sheilah Kast delivering the commencement address.

Robert N. Funk, Ph.D., provost and dean of the faculty, presented bachelor's degrees to 246 undergraduates. Francis Sweeney, Ph.D., dean of the graduate school and associate professor of education, presented 203 graduate students with master's degrees.

The following local students were awarded Bachelor of Arts degrees:

Boonsboro - Julie Rachelle Stevens.

Funkstown - Stephanie Lynne Watson.

Hagerstown - Jason Travis Campbell, Amber Demetria Guzman (cum laude), Benjamin Joseph Hall, Jaclyn Kelly Hamilton, Katarzyna Haynesworth, Kara Eugenia Lee, Sarah Elizabeth Moser (magna cum laude), Garrett Waverly Rice, Lisa Marie Watts.

Keedysville - Audrey Ann Maass, Bradley Allen Stotelmyer (summa cum laude).

Rohrersville - Christina Michelle Williamson (cum laude).

Sharpsburg - Markwood Lester Mackenzie.

Williamsport - Jean Carol Duley, Stephen Michael Koons.

York Springs, Pa. - Sara Ann Rinehart.

The following local students were awarded Master of Arts degrees:

Hagerstown - Mercedes Johnson, Melissa Kemp, Heather Petro, Andrea Rowland.

The following local students were awarded Master of Business Administration degrees:

Boonsboro - Brian Schultheis.

Hagerstown - Deborah Swift.

Keedysville - Carrie Abbott.

The following local students were awarded Master of Science degrees:

Boonsboro - Theresa McIlwee, Wendi Starleper.

The Herald-Mail Articles