Webster dominates in Bath election

June 13, 2007|by TRISH RUDDER

BERKELEY SPRINGS, W.VA. - Incumbent Mayor Susan J. Webster was re-elected for another two-year term in Tuesday's Town of Bath election.

Webster has been mayor since 1996. She received 105 votes, while challenger Barbara Campbell received 54 write-in votes, according to complete, but unofficial results.

The top five vote-getters in the Bath Town Council race will earn two-year seats. They were incumbent David Crosby (115 votes), incumbent Kenny Easton (90 votes), incumbent Nancy Harvey (101 votes), incumbent Dale Lutman (94 votes) and newcomer Scott Merki (62 votes), according to unofficial results.

Also receiving votes were Dave Duncan (61), Jim Slough (49) and Ryan Rebant (42). Michelle Ritchie received 35 votes, but pulled out of the race after the ballots were printed.


About 10 provisional ballots were not counted, said election commissioner Dianne Yost.

The votes will be counted at the canvass on Monday at 9:30 a.m. at Bath Town Hall.

Garnet Marsh, 52, ran unopposed for the town recorder position. She received 115 votes.

All positions have two-year terms. The yearly salary for mayor is $500; for town recorder, $1,200; and each council member earns a yearly salary of $300. The new council members' terms run from July 1 through June 30, 2009.

The election brought out about 174 voters, and 62 people took advantage of early voting, Town Clerk Margie McCumbee Allgyer said.

The Town of Bath is the local government inside Berkeley Springs.

The Herald-Mail Articles