Incumbents struggle in Waynesboro School Board primary

May 16, 2007|by JENNIFER FITCH

WAYNESBORO, Pa. - The makeup of the Waynesboro Area School Board is set to change later this year, with primary election voters on Tuesday sending newcomers to the general election as their representatives.

Voters in the school district elect by region for four-year terms. Candidates are able to cross-file, appearing as candidates on both Democratic and Republican ballots if they choose.

Newcomers Firmadge Crutchfield and Ed Wilson ousted incumbents on GOP ballots in the school board's North End, according to complete, but unofficial election results.

The men defeated board members Larry Glenn and Lee E. Daywalt when Republicans went to the polls in Quincy Township, Mont Alto and the portion of Guilford Township in the district.


Democrats also supported Wilson, 51, of 11610 South Mountain Road, but they sent Daywalt onto the general election in November. Crutchfield, 42, is a resident of 8770 Orlando Drive.

In the Borough of Waynesboro, Jennifer Johns, 28, of 228 Hawbaker Ave., will appear as the candidate on both Republican and Democratic ballots in November.

Her opponent, incumbent Anna Bostwick-Foley, opted not to cross-file and only appeared on GOP ballot Tuesday.

Johns edged Bostwick-Foley, 67, of 22 Wynnecrest Drive, by just eight votes on the Republican side.

In Washington Township, retired district staff member and political newcomer Pat Heefner, 63, of 10591 Buena Vista Drive, took both the Republican and Democratic nominations.

Incumbent K. Marilyn Smith followed, winning the second spot on ballots for each party.

Smith, 71, lives at 12365 Wedge Wood Drive.

The Herald-Mail Articles