Student news

April 15, 2007

Tatum True, a seventh-grader at Hancock Middle-Senior High School, has been named a 2007 Carson Scholar recipient.

This recognition for students in grades four through 11 awards students with a $1,000 college scholarship, a medal and certificate. In addition, her school will receive a trophy for display.

A Carson Scholars recipient must maintain a 3.75 grade-point average, and demonstrate service to the community and a promise of future leadership.

At the 129th commencement ceremonies at Frostburg State University on Dec. 17, 2006, nearly 55 area residents were among the 283 total candidates for degrees.


Candidates listed include those who completed requirements in December, as well as those who finished in August.

Tri-State residents who are candidates included:

ยทMaster of Business Administration

Hagerstown - Joseph F. Kennedy, Cynthia M. Paschall, Gregory A. Wilson.

Frederick, Md. - Tracy M. Diggs,Margaret M. Waxter.

Middletown, Md. - George M. Payne.

Chambersburg, Pa. - Justin R. Pyatt.

Needmore, Pa. - Crystal R. Booth.

Waynesboro, Pa. - Brett A. Kane.

Falling Waters, W.Va. - Cheryl L. Snyder.

Hedgesville, W.Va. - James M. Hahn.

n Master of Education

Hagerstown - Lance D. Baker, Yvonne M. Ritchie, Erin L. Shank, Jennifer E. Shank.

Smithsburg - Lynn M. Creighton-Izat, Glenn W. Reynolds.

Frederick, Md. - Tasha M. Brown.

Chambersburg, Pa. - Diana K. Gray.

Greencastle, Pa. - Richard D. Campbell Jr., Joshua J. Fretz.

Needmore, Pa. - Jill M. Mellott.

n Bachelor of Fine Arts

Middletown, Md. - Brianne Waldt.

n Bachelor of Science

Hagerstown - Lindsey Close, Charles Danner, Chelsea Lewis, Laura Luhouse, Meghan Parker, Sara Smit, Clarissa Sowers.

Boonsboro - Charise Burton, Matthew Miller, Megan Newkirk.

Cascade - Jeff Meyer.

Clear Spring - Jonas Horst, Emily Hull, Megan Simmons.

Fairplay - Jessica Draper.

Funkstown - Ashley Evans.

Hancock - Christopher Finney.

Rohrersville - Lydia Griffin.

Sharpsburg - Jennifer Rotruck.

Smithsburg - Matthew Shank.

Frederick, Md. - Timothy Bodnar, Carl Enos, Kenneth Hammond, Chelsea Kendall, Joseph Ottey, Carrie Thomas.

Ijamsville, Md. - Jennifer DeLuca.

Middletown, Md. - Shannon Sturtz.

New Market, Md. - Bradford Henry.

Walkersville, Md. - Bethany Seyler, Justin Tauszky.

Frederick County Public Schools announces the winners of the middle school Technology Fair.

Oakdale Middle students garnered the most points, bringing the school first-place winner status overall, followed closely by Gov. Thomas Johnson Middle. Windsor Knolls Middle placed third.

The fair showcased skills middle school students develop in technology education classes. Attendees voted for People's Choice awards and visited displays that highlighted career-related courses available to high school students.

In the Downhill Racer event, three students from each middle school raced model cars in a double-elimination bracket to determine the fastest on the downhill track. Ballenger Creek student Darviil Gribok won first place, TJ student Andrew Kim won second and Ballenger Creek student Cody Hawkins placed third. The event's first-place People's Choice award went to Oakdale student Taylor McGaughey.

The Straw Bridge competition is a team effort to design and build a soda-straw bridge that can span 20 inches and support a 6.5-pound toy truck for one minute. Design drawings, an oral presentation to a panel of local structural engineers and the bridge's weight factored into this contest. Placing first were Oakdale students Alex Bourdeau, Colby McGill and Electra Sherlock. Windsor Knolls students Ned Kidwell, Jacob Lueck and Greg Wade placed second; and TJ students Jeff Bowersox, Brandon Hamerick and Jennifer Maynard placed third. This event's first-place People's Choice award went to Middletown students Shawn Dearcangelis, Reed Finch, Richard Keyser and Tori Thomas.

In Poster Design competition, three students from each middle school used MS Publisher and online art sources to create a public service announcement poster related to a topic drawn from a hat. A panel of local graphics professionals judged the posters. In first place: Thurmont student Julia Steinly. Earning second place: Urbana student Ryan Moyer. Third: Monocacy student Michael Webber.

In Careers Research and Presentation competition, students from each middle school's Technology in Careers course researched and developed a PowerPoint presentation for a career drawn from a hat. Winners were: Walkersville students Kevin Delmolino, placing first, and Nicole Harbordt, second, and Monocacy student Austin Henry, third.

TJ, Thurmont and Oakdale teams placed first, second and third, respectively, in the fair's Scavenger Hunt.

Finally, two teams from each middle school had one hour to construct a Hovercraft before competing in a timed trial across a specified distance. Creating the fastest Hovercraft: Richard Keyser and Michael Wegner from Middletown Middle School.

The Herald-Mail Articles