Social Services honors employees

April 05, 2007

The Washington County Department of Social Services held its 18th annual Employee Recognition Day on Friday, March 16, at its headquarters at 122 N. Potomac St. in Hagerstown.

Brenda Donald, secretary of the Department of Human Resources, visited the facility and addressed the employees at the luncheon, applauding them for the service they provide to the citizens of Washington County.

Dr. Kimberly Ventus-Darks, a motivational speaker from National Seminars Group, Kansas City, Mo., provided an inspirational message about "Life Balance and Stress Reduction."

The day's activities included an awards luncheon, during which employees were recognized for their outstanding performance and contributions, years of service and participation in the agency's Continuous Quality Improvement Program, which has been in place for nine years.


Four employees were honored as Employees of the Year in their respective divisions. They are:

  • Anne Bushong, Adult, Child and Family Services Division

  • Joe Nalley, Administration Division

  • Jill Meyers, Child Support Division

  • Patti Daley, Family Investment Division

Additional award categories included:

  • Outstanding Supervisor Award: Ann Pittman, Adult, Child and Family Services Division; Michelle Hepburn, Administration Division; Kelly Rohrer, Child Support Division; and Karen Coss, Family Investment Division.

  • Most Uplifting Award: Beth Hawbaker, Adult, Child and Family Services Division; Stephanie Kendall, Child Support Division; and Marcella Shell, Family Investment Division.

  • Outstanding Support Person Award: Jeanne Kitchens, Adult, Child and Family Services Division; Kristin McEnroe, Administration Division; Julie Burkholder, Family Investment Division; and Pam Brown, Child Support Division.

  • Outstanding Team Player Award: Martha Marshall, Adult, Child and Family Services Division; Ronnie Bolyard, Administration Division; Laurie Taylor, Child Support Division; and Jimmy Gossard, Family Investment Division.

Community Partnership Awards were granted to Dr. Carlton Munson and Kevin Cerrone, Washington County Commuter.

The Herald-Mail Articles