Student news

March 11, 2007

Steven Nunnally, a 2006 graduate of Williamsport High School, was named to the dean's list at Roanoke College, Roanoke, Va., for the fall 2006 semester.

Pi Theta, Hagerstown Community College's chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society, recently attended the PTK regional convention in Valley Forge, Pa.

The honor society received five honors, including the Pinnacle Award for increased membership, 5-Star Status Award for honors and community service activities, and a Scholarship Hallmark Award for an essay Kim Vocke of Hagerstown submitted concerning this year's PTK theme of "Gold, Gods and Glory, the Global Dynamics of Power."

In addition, Joey Nelson of Hagerstown was inducted into the Chapter Officer Hall of Honor, and Katie Dingee of Williamsport was inducted into the Chapter Member Hall of Honor.


Membership in PTK is based on cumulative grade point average and number of college-level credits completed. Members wear special academic regalia at graduation; receive a notation on college transcripts; have a gold seal placed on his or her diploma and are eligible for select scholarships at over 600 four-year and senior institutions.

Phi Theta Kappa members are challenged with community outreach through volunteerism and various projects. They've been involved with organizations such as the American Cancer Society, American Red Cross and Food Resources Inc., to name a few.

For more information, contact Loretta Thornhill at 301-790-2800, ext. 481.

The following area students were named to the dean's list at Hood College, Frederick, Md., for the fall 2006 semester:

Boonsboro - Kimberly Bolland, Michelle Burker.

Clear Spring - Mark Porter, Kristopher Reese.

Funkstown - Bonnie Hamberger, Caleb Mooney, Stephanie Watson.

Hagerstown - Jason Campbell, Taylor DiClemente, Amber Guzman, Christine Hall, Katie Lewis, Rachel Lewis, Sarah Moser, Charly Mulligan, Megan Oberholzer, Christopher Pollard, Sarah Thornton.

Keedysville - Audrey Maass, Laura Printz, Bradley Stotelmyer.

Knoxville, Md. - Eric Whitenton.

Rohrersville - Christina Williamson.

Sharpsburg - Mary Jean Hughes.

Smithsburg - Allison Blickenstaff.

Waynesboro, Pa. - Ashley McChesney.

Williamsport - Jeanette Morris.

Corina S. Campbell of Smithsburg was named to the dean's list at Robert Morris University, Moon Township, Pa., for the fall 2006 semester.

Campbell, a graduate of Smithsburg High School, is majoring in communication.

The Herald-Mail Articles