Borough, township races in Pa. filled with contenders

March 07, 2007|by JENNIFER FITCH

CHAMBERSBURG, Pa. - Several former officeholders are looking to get back onto municipal government boards when Franklin County, Pa., voters head to the polls in May.

· In the Borough of Chambersburg, former councilmen Allen S. Frantz, Kenneth L. Gill and Thomas L. Newcomer have filed to appear on Republican ballots for the nomination to serve their respective wards. Newcomer was elected mayor in 2001, but lost the position to John A. Redding Jr. in 2005.

Other Republicans who are seeking positions on the Chambersburg Borough Council are incumbents William F. McLaughlin, Elaine Swartz and Robert Wareham.

Democrat incumbent Sharon Bigler filed for re-election. The only other Democrat to meet Tuesday's filing deadline was Charles Kopack, of 261 Grandview Ave.


Voters in the Borough of Chambersburg elect council members in five geographic wards for four-year terms.

· In the Borough of Waynesboro, voters in each of the three wards will be selecting a councilperson to serve a four-year term.

None of the incumbents filed for re-election, meaning Allen Porter, Richard "Dick" George and Allen Berry all could see their tenure expire this year.

"We don't need any council members in their 90s," Porter, 87, said of his reason for not running.

George acknowledged that he did not file to appear on ballots and said he has not "officially" decided whether he will seek another term. He and others retain the option of running a write-in campaign.

Berry could not be reached for comment.

C. Harold Mumma, a former councilman, filed for the Republican nomination to serve Ward 2 again. Democrat Bill Devlin, of 547 Pratt Court, also is seeking to serve the Second Ward.

Local developer Ronald B. "Ronnie" Martin is seeking a Ward 1 seat two years after losing a court case regarding his eligibility. A judge ruled Martin had not resided at his 66 State Hill Road house long enough to fill a First Ward seat then.

Democrat Benjamin H. Greenawalt, of 809 Anthony Ave., is seeking the Ward 3 seat in Waynesboro.

· In the Borough of Greencastle, three four-year terms and one two-year term will be up for grabs on the borough council.

Republicans H. Duane Kinzer, of 463 E. Baltimore St.; Chris Grimm, of 186 Orchard Circle; and Nancy Dunn, of 339 Moss Spring Ave., are seeking their party's nomination. No Democrats filed in the race.


· Antrim Township had the most candidates seeking to fill a single seat. Supervisor Scott Diffenderfer opted not to run for re-election and opened up a six-year term to a field of seven, including former supervisor Larson Wenger.

Wenger will appear on ballots with fellow Republicans Jeff Todd, of 13545 Worleytown Road, Greencastle; Richard L. Baer, of 14175 Rocking M Lane, Greencastle; Larry L. Eberly, of 11537 Grant Shook Road, Greencastle; Dwight Thrush, of 6451 Molly Pitcher Highway, Chambersburg; and Kim Y. Robinson, of 1909 Farmall Drive, Greencastle.

The lone Democrat in the field is John Alleman of P.O. Box 244, State Line.

· In Washington Township, the two incumbents with expiring terms - Paul Benchoff and C. Stewart McCleaf - filed to appear on Republican ballots.

Also on Republican ballots will be Elaine Gladhill, of 14547 Carrosmar Farm Road, Blue Ridge Summit; Stephen Kulla, of 11617 Woodlea Drive, Waynesboro; and David A. McCarney, of 11 Eastland Circle, Waynesboro.

· Robert J. "Bob" Gunder was the only person to file for the Quincy Township Supervisor seat he has held for the past six years.

The Herald-Mail Articles