Town elects incumbents, newcomer

March 06, 2007|by KAREN HANNA

WILLIAMSPORT - A newcomer following in his father's footsteps will join two incumbents on the Williamsport Town Council during a swearing-in ceremony for winners of Monday's election.

Anthony "Tony" Drury, who said he was a teenager when his father, Donald Drury, was elected to council, received the most votes in a four-way race for three council seats.

"You know, we had talked about it before. I think that it's something he wanted to see me do," said Drury, who expressed confidence in the direction of the current council and Mayor James G. McCleaf II.

Incumbents Earle R. Pereschuk Sr. and James "Jim" Kalbfleisch bested former town supervisor Jeffery "Jeff" Long for the other two seats, according to figures provided by Town Clerk James Castle. The councilmen will begin their four-year terms March 19, Castle said.


Two hundred sixty-three people voted, Castle said. Last week, town election supervisor C. Lee Butts Jr. said 1,459 people were registered to vote in Williamsport.

Drury said he wanted to enhance tourism and business opportunities in the town by taking advantage of interest in the Chesapeake & Ohio Canal National Historical Park.

"Obviously, it's definitely a major asset of the town of Williamsport, and that's definitely something I want to keep alive," Drury, 41, said.

Kalbfleisch agreed. He said he believed work on the canal has backers outside of town, as well.

A councilman for 10 years, Kalbfleisch said he is pleased with the town's progress.

"I think it's going in a real good direction," Kalbfleisch said.

Drury said he was grateful to the voters and longtime Councilwoman Gloria Bitner, who opted not to run for re-election.

"They're definitely ... it is going in the right direction, and that's why I wanted to be part of that team," Drury said.

Election results

Town Clerk James Castle said 263 people voted in Monday's election to fill three seats on the Williamsport Town Council. The results of the election are:

· Anthony "Tony" Drury 224 votes

· Earle R. Pereschuk Sr. 220 votes

· James "Jim" Kalbfleisch 189 votes

· Jeffery "Jeff" Long 100 votes

Drury, Pereschuk and Kalbfleisch will be sworn in at 7 p.m. March 19 at Town Hall.

The Herald-Mail Articles