7 from county are on O'Malley's nominee list

February 17, 2007|by ANDREW SCHOTZ

Seven Washington County residents were among 145 nominations Gov. Martin O'Malley announced Friday for state boards and commissions.

O'Malley's choices for the Washington County Board of Elections were Clyde J. Tate, Carroll H. Earp, Eileen W. Wiggins, John R. Benchoff and Sharon L. Washington.

All five terms on the board expired this year.

Wiggins, Benchoff and Washington are Democrats. Tate and Earp are Republicans.

Earp and Washington were nominated to replace Republicans Charles L. Mobley Jr. and John F. Barr.

O'Malley named Charles F. Mades to the Washington County Board of License Commissioners, or liquor board, replacing Richard F. Newman, whose six-year term was up.

Robert L. Everhart and William F. Dunham are the board's other two members.

Hagerstown-Washington County Chamber of Commerce President Brien J. Poffenberger was picked for the Maryland Historical Trust's board of directors.

The 145 appointments are called "green bag" nominations after the satchel in which the governor's office delivers them to the state Senate.


The Senate's Executive Nominations Committee will vote on the appointments before sending them to the full Senate for consideration.

Also Friday, O'Malley picked former Maryland Insurance Commissioner Steven B. Larsen as chairman of the state's five-member Public Service Commission.

He also appointed former PSC member Susanne Brogan and reappointed Harold D. Williams.

The Herald-Mail Articles