At the races

Izzy splits from Charles Town, returns to Delaware Park

Izzy splits from Charles Town, returns to Delaware Park

January 28, 2007|by LARRY YANOS

Ismael "Izzy" Trejo, a state steward at Charles Town Races & Slots, is returning to Delaware Park as the track's racing secretary.

"I really enjoyed my four years here, to accept the offer from Delaware Park was one of the toughest decisions I have ever faced," said Trejo, 35. "Working with Danny (Wright) and Bobby (Lotts) was fun. With the hearings and the day-to-day assigments in the mornings and then the races at night - we spent a lot of time with each other. I loved the people here at Charles Town."

Trejo worked as an entry clerk for six years at Delaware Park and spent some time in the winters at Turf Paradise in Arizona.

"I'm very grateful to the (West Virginia State) Racing Commission for the opportunity to serve the people at Charles Town and now I move on," Trejo said. "Believe me, it was a very difficult decision."


Trejo says his responsibility at Delaware Park will be to get the best available horses for the impressive stakes programs.

"I'll be doing some traveling to East Coast racetracks. I want to uphold the quality of the stakes program and the overall racing at Delaware Park," Trejo said.

Bill Fasy, chief operating officer of Delaware Park, said that Trejo - a graduate of the University of Arizona's racing program - will succeed Sam Abbey.

"We are extremely pleased to welcome Izzy back to the Delaware Park team. During Izzy's previous tenure with Delaware Park, he continually demonstrated the ability to build excellent working relationships with our horsemen," Fasy said. "We are confident that Izzy will develop a well designed race program for the upcoming meet. With Izzy's leadership and direction, coupled with the talents of the existing racing team, the 2007 live meet promises to be action packed."

Trejo's final day at Charles Town is Wednesday. He starts at Delaware Park on Feb. 5.

"They start live racing on April 28 and run 137 days through Nov. 4," Trejo said.

In the dark

The good news coming from the Eclipse Awards Dinner in California on Monday was that Charles Town-based trainer George Yetsook received one vote in the Outstanding Trainer of the Year category.

The bad news: The Maryland contingent didn't fare very well in the national balloting.

The National Thoroughbred Racing Association, Daily Racing Form and National Turf Writers Association all had a say in the voting.

"I'm surprised, that's quite an honor," Yetsook said. "I don't know if there has ever been a person from Charles Town to be included in the Eclipse voting."

The Marylanders didn't do as well as expected.

Robert Cole Jr. received just one vote in the owner category; Scott Lake received 7 votes in the trainer category; Ramon Dominguez received 3 votes in the outstanding jockey category; and Rosie Napravnik received 7 votes in the apprentice jockey category.

All were far behind the award winners.

The complete breakdown in each category:

· Two-Year-Old Male: Street Sense, 229; Circular Quay, 13; Tiz Wonderful, 11; Nobiz Like Shobiz, 9; Scat Daddy, 5; Great Hunter, 2; Day Pass, 1; Stormello, 1. No Abstentions.

· Two-Year-Old Filly: Dreaming of Anna, 265; Octave, 3; Boca Grande 1; Point Ashley, 1. Voter abstentions, 1.

· Three-Year-Old Male: Bernardini, 210; Barbaro, 56; Discreet Cat, 4; Jazil, 1. No Abstentions.

· Three-Year-Old Filly: Wait a While, 138; Pine Island, 108; Bushfire, 18; Ermine, 3; Lemons Forever, 1. Voter abstentions, 3.

· Older Male: Invasor (ARG), 262; Lava Man, 8; Voter Abstentions, 1.

· Older Female: Fleet Indian, 213; Round Pond, 48; Asi Siempre, 4; Gorella (FR) 2; Ouija Board (GB), 2; Pool Land, 1; Spun Sugar, 1. No Abstentions.

· Sprinter: Thor's Echo, 213; Discreet Cat, 39; Henny Hughes, 15; Bishop Court Hill, 1. Bordonaro, 1; Proud Tower Too, 1. Voter Abstentions, 1.

· Male Turf Horse: Miesque's Approval, 74; The Tin Man, 69; English Channel, 63; Red Rocks (IRE), 21; Aragorn (IRE) 19; Showing Up, 12; Lava Man, 7; Ashkal Way (IRE), 1; Better Talk Now, 1; Collier Hill (GB) ,1. Voter Abstentions, 3.

· Female Turf Horse: Ouija Board (GB), 217; Gorella (FR) 35; Wait a While 15. Voter Abstentions, 4.

· Steeplechase Horse: McDynamo, 239; Sur La Tete, 6; Hirapour (IRE) 2; Mixed Up 1; Voter Abstentions, 23.

Horse of the Year: Invasor (ARG), 228; Barbaro, 21; Bernardini, 16; Lava Man, 3; Ouija Board (GB) 3. No Abstentions.

· Outstanding Owner: Darley Stable, 110 and Lael Stables, 110; Shadwell Stable, 17; Live Oak Plantation, 13; Maggi Moss, 9; Louis O'Brien, 2; Frank Calabrese, 1; Robert Cole, Jr., 1; Melnyk Racing Stable, 1; J. Paul Reddam, 1; STD Racing and Jason Wood, 1; Stronach Stables, 1. Voter Abstentions, 4.

· Outstanding Breeder: Adena Springs, 119; Mr. & Mrs. Roy Jackson, 47; Darley, 44; Live Oak Stud, 24; William S. Farish, 11; Thomas/Lakin, 7; Farnsworth Farms, 3; WinStar Farm, LLC, 2; Haras Clausan, 1; E. Paul Robsham, 1; Stanley Estate and Stud Co., 1. Voter Abstentions, 11.

The Herald-Mail Articles